Before Upgrading Zerto

 

Before upgrading to a new version, either by installing the new version over the existing version or by uninstalling the existing version and then installing the new version, Zerto recommends doing the following:

For any peer sites running Zerto v7.5, the ZVM to ZVM communication is backwards compatible and will continue to be carried out over port 9081.
For any peer sites running Zerto v8.0Ux, following the upgrade the ZVM to ZVM communication connection will be made secure and encrypted, and will be carried out over a new HTTPS port, 9071 by default.

Therefore, prior to upgrading to Zerto v8.0Ux, if your site has any peer sites running v8.0Ux, make sure this new port, 9071, is open for communication between the sites. In addition, make sure the current port used between the sites, 9081 by default, will remain open as well for the duration of the upgrade.

Clear the Microsoft Internet Explorer cache of temporary Internet files. Not clearing the cache of temporary files can result in problems when accessing the Zerto Virtual Manager. In vSphere environments, this would be via the vSphere Client console.
Make sure that all VPGs are in the state Protecting, and not in a sync state, such as Delta Sync, or in an error state, such as Needs Configuration.
Make sure that the external ZVM SQL server database recovery model is configured to Simple.
Complete any recovery operation before starting the upgrade.
Create a backup of the machine where the Zerto Virtual Manager runs, which you will use if the upgrade fails. Zerto recommends taking a snapshot of the machine after stopping the Zerto Virtual Manager service.
(AWS environments only) Make sure the permission level of the VM running the ZCA is set using IAM Roles.
(Azure environments only) Make sure user assigned Managed Identities on the VM running the ZCA is enabled and the permission level is set to the following:
Owner or Contributor,
Storage Blob Data Contributor
Storage Queue Data Contributor
Note: The snapshot should only be used to rollback to the pre-upgrade state immediately after the upgrade has completed. The snapshot should not be used after the protection of virtual machines has restarted.

The installation procedure checks for an existing installation that is either one version lower than the new version or is the same version. If an installation is found you can upgrade the installation.