LawHelp Interactive, a free service offered by Legal Services Corporation, the national legal aid service, is a way to create personalized petitions and other court documents. Submit your proof of publication for at least two consecutive weeks to the court before your hearing.
The full text of the New Mexico law on name changes can be found in sections 40-8-1 through 40-8-3. Residents of Santa Fe, Rio Arriba, and Los Alamos counties can download a name change package online. If publishing your name change petition in the paper could result in personal danger, New Mexico law allows you to ask the court to waive publication and seal the records.
The judge will refuse name change requests that are intended to avoid debts, child support, and other legal obligations.
An adopted child may want to return to their birth name or you want to go back to your maiden name after a divorce. Before you file your name change petition, you must be at least 14 years old, have lived in the state of New Mexico for at least six months, and the county where you will file for at least 30 days. To fill out the application to change your name you will need your current address, phone number, exact current legal name (first, middle, last,) and the exact name in the exact spelling you want to change it to (first, middle, last.) Put some thought into this. Between the time you file your request and go before the judge, you have to publish your intent to change your name in the newspaper that serves your town.


For a low fee, the bar association of New Mexico will set up a meeting with an attorney in your area. Depending on the method you choose, you will fill in your current exact legal name, address, and desired exact legal name.
This is the day you will appear in front of the judge to formally ask to change your legal name. The easiest way is to buy a paper, clip out the notice, and tape it to a sheet of paper with your name and case number.
When the judge signs the order changing your name, you must take it to the court clerk for filing. Typically, this requires you to complete a financial statement with your income and expenses. He enjoys reviewing new edits, fixing broken links, and editing articles, and he’s proud of being a Welcomer. Regardless of the reason, the state of New Mexico allows anyone over the age of 14 to personally ask the court to legally change their name. For example, if you live in Logan, you will file your petition at the Quay County courthouse in Tucumcari. Your package needs to include the Petition, a Scheduling Notice for the court to set your hearing, a Notary Verification sheet, and a Final Order for the judge to sign in court.


The date must be at least three weeks from the filing date so you can publish your case in the newspaper for at least two consecutive weeks. The newspaper will need the information from the petition: your name, court hearing date, etc.
The judge will ask a few basic questions about your petition such as your name, address, reason for changing your name, and verifying your requested new name. You will receive a file stamped copy of the judge's order that you are free to copy as many times as you need to submit to get a new birth certificate, drivers license, etc. If you are having trouble identifying which court you should go to, contact the New Mexico Court Administration Office. Take the original proof of publication and at least one copy to the court clerk before your hearing.
Once the petition is filed, you can't change it without difficulty, so make sure you've double-checked all the information.



How to practice raja yoga meditation
Free fun places to go in miami