Ministerial role

Minister for the Cabinet Office


The Minister for the Cabinet Office is in overall charge of and responsible for the policy and work of the department, and attends Cabinet.

Responsibilities include:

  • advising the Prime Minister on developing and implementing government policy
  • driving forward government business and implementation including chairing and deputy chairing Cabinet committees and implementation taskforces
  • overseeing devolution consequences of EU exit
  • overseeing constitutional affairs and maintaining the integrity of the Union
  • oversight of all Cabinet Office policies

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP

The Rt Hon Michael Gove was appointed Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster on 24 July 2019. He was also appointed Minister for the Cabinet Office on 13 February 2020.

He was previously Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs from June 2017 to July 2019. He was elected Conservative MP for Surrey Heath in 2005.


Michael was educated at Robert Gordon’s College, Aberdeen and Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford University.

Political career

Michael was Shadow Minister for Housing from 2005 to 2007 and Shadow Secretary of State for Children, Schools and Families from 2007 to 2010.

He served as Secretary of State for Education from May 2010 until July 2014. From July 2014 to May 2015, he served as Government Chief Whip and Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury. Michael also served as Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice from May 2015 until 14 July 2016.

Career outside politics

Michael became a journalist after leaving university, working as a reporter for The Press and Journal in Aberdeen, a researcher and reporter at Scottish Television and a reporter for BBC Television. He was later Assistant Editor of The Times.

Personal life

Michael is married with 2 children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon David Lidington CBE

    • 2018 to 2019
  2. The Rt Hon Damian Green MP

    • 2017 to 2017
  3. The Rt Hon Ben Gummer

    • 2016 to 2017
  4. The Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP

    • 2015 to 2016
  5. The Rt Hon Lord Maude of Horsham

    • 2010 to 2015


Get updates to this list
  1. Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster speech to Women in Security Network: 18 June 2019

    • Speech
  2. Minister for the Cabinet Office appoints two new Members of the Boundary Commission for England

    • News story
  3. Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster speech at Cutlers' Feast: 23 May 2019

    • Speech
  4. Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster speech to CYBERUK 2019 conference

    • Speech
  5. Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster speech at BSA Annual Chairman's Dinner

    • Speech
  6. New 'Social Value' contracts to revolutionise government procurement

    • Press release
  7. Value of location data to be unlocked by government investment

    • Press release
  8. Joint Communiqué of the British-Irish Intergovernmental Conference 25 July 2018

    • Press release
  9. Update: Media Mergers

    • Statement to Parliament
  10. New laws to make social media safer

    • Press release