The Prospect High School Speech and Debate Team cordially invites you to the eighth annual Georgiana Hays Debate Invitational at Prospect High School, Saratoga. Georgiana Hays was an English teacher and debate coach who led Prospect's forensics program to nationals twice during her tenure. At a tournament hosting some of the finest debaters in the nation, it is only fitting that her name should grace the trophy.

The Hays Invitational will be held all day on Saturday, May 18, 2019. Students will have the opportunity to compete in Parliamentary and Public Forum debate, in either the Open or Novice divisions. Additionally, middle school and homeschooled students are more than welcome to attend.

<u>General</u>

- BE ON TIME! Registration must be completed by 7:30 am as varsity debaters must be in their rooms by 8:00 am. We will not be waiting for anyone.
- We will be selling food during lunch so make sure to bring money.
- The rounds 1 and 2 will be randomly paired. The next three rounds will be power-matched. The 5th round will be hidden semis.
- The tournament will be single-flighted. Depending on the number of novice teams registered, we reserve the right to collapse divisions. If this is the case, novice teams will be paired with each other for as long as possible, and will still have their own finals round.
- The top two teams and speakers in each division receive awards. All participants earn NFL points. POI points will be awarded in Parliamentary debate.
- A team can compete in novice only if they have been competing for a year or less in the event that they are registered for.
- There is a limit for 6 teams per school per event, but we plan on taking entries off of the waitlist later on.

Parliamentary

- Parliamentary will loosely follow CHSSA rules. Points of Information are permitted (at speaker's discretion) in the constructive speeches except during the first and last minute of each speech. Points of Order are allowed in the final speeches. The speaking times are 7PM-8LO-8MG-8MO-4LO-5PM. Laptops may be used during prep, but not in-round for parliamentary. There will be no coach prep allowed. Parliamentary will have 20 minutes of prep time prior to each round.
- We are happy to announce that we will continue to have strikes for all parliamentary debate rounds. Topic strikes and debate prep will take place in rooms. Parliamentary debaters must be in their respective rooms within 5 minutes of the round start time or else it will be a forfeit.

Public Forum

Public Forum will follow NFL rules. The April resolution will be used in all rounds. The use of laptops is allowed, but wifi must be turned off during rounds. Speech times:
 4A1-4N1-31CX-4A2-4N2-32CX-2A1-2N1-3GCX-2A2-2N2. Public Forum debaters must be in their respective rooms within 5 minutes of the round start time or else it will be a forfeit.

Judges

- During online registration, schools will be required to register their judges by name. One corresponding judge will be required for every two teams, rounding up (eg: if five teams are entered, three judges will be required).
- Judges must have/create personal Tabroom accounts before the tournament and bring personal devices that can connect to the internet. We will be doing e-ballots.
- If a judge does not show up for a round, the school will have to pay a \$50 fee.
- We will be providing breakfast and lunch for judges.
- We are unable to provide hired judges this year. If you are unable to cover all of your entries, please email us and we will try to work something out.

SCHEDULE

7:00 am: Check In at Student Services Table
7:30 am: Announcements
8:00 am: Round 1
9:40 am: Round 2
11:20 am: Round 3
12:00 pm: Lunch
2:40 pm: Round 4
4:20 pm: Round 5 (hidden semis)
6:00 pm: Awards
6:40 pm: Finals

FEES

School fee X 1 = \$40

____ Number of Parli/Public Forum Open entered X \$60 = ____

Number of Parli/Public Forum Novice entered X \$50 =

Please make checks out to Prospect Speech and Debate. All cash/checks must be brought to registration on the day of the tournament.

If you have any questions, please email Emily Vainberg at <u>emily.vainberg@gmail.com</u> or Shreya Agarwal at <u>shreya4646@gmail.com</u>.