CENTERPOINT SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES REGULAR MEETING FEBRUARY 13, 2017 6:00 PM

Larry Harvey, President Lisa Wright, Vice President Kerry Horn, Secretary Charles Swain Nan Kirksey Dickie Johnson Dale Sutton

The Centerpoint Board of Education met in Regular Session on February 13, 2017 at 6:00 pm with Nan Kirksey absent.

Charles Swain opened the meeting with prayer.

Motion was made at 6:03 pm by Dale Sutton and seconded by Kerry Horn to suspend the rules and amend the agenda to include item 11a, Legal Transfer. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 6:03 pm by Kerry Horn and seconded by Lisa Wright to accept the minutes of the January 16, 2017 board meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 6:06 pm by Dale Sutton and seconded by Kerry Horn to accept the financial statement as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Breshears presented the K-5 building update, noting the incredible work put in last week and over the weekend by all the teachers and staff of CIS to make the move successful.

Celebrate Success was presented by Mr. Breshears, Nic Mounts, Penny Smothers, and Rodney Whitfield at 6:07 pm.

At 6:24 pm a motion was made by Dale Sutton and seconded by Lisa Wright to approve the legal transfer of student designated 2-13-17 to the Kirby school district. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 6:39 pm by Lisa Wright and seconded by Charles Swain to approve the contract with the Flippen Group to provide professional development services as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 6:40 pm by Charles Swain and seconded by Kerry Horn to advertise for bids to thin timber on 25 acres in Amity. Motion passed unanimously.

At 6:45 pm motion was made by Kerry Horn and seconded by Lisa Wright to accept bid #2, from Tony Parr Logging to thin the 40 acre track behind the high school. Motion passed 5-0 with Dale Sutton abstaining.

Motion was made at 6:46 pm by Kerry Horn and seconded by Lisa Wright to accept the Greenhouse Grant from Arkansas Dept. of Career Ed. For \$80,750.00 for 85% of a greenhouse construction project with project approval to come later. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 7:06 pm by Kerry Horn and seconded by Charles Swain to approve the purchase of the property at 758 Hwy 8 East as described and presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 7:16 pm by Dale Sutton and seconded by Lisa Wright to approve the policy updates as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 7:17 pm by Charles Swain and seconded by Kerry Horn to approve the 2017-18 District Calendar as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

At 7:17 pm the board went into executive session.

At 7:41 pm the board returned to open session with no action taken.

Motion was made at 7:41 pm by Dale Sutton and seconded by Charles Swain to accept the resignation of Trudy Hughes as K-5 Curriculum Coordinator at the end of the 2016-17 contract. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 7:41 pm by Charles Swain and seconded by Kerry Horn to accept the resignation of Whitney Spurlin as Sr. High Cheer Sponsor at the end of the 2016-17 school year. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 7:42 pm by Kerry Horn and seconded by Charles Swain to approve the assignment of Rita Risner as the Sr. High Cheer Sponsor for the 2017-18 school year. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made at 7:43 pm by Kerry Horn and seconded by Charles Swain to renew the slate of school administrators as presented: Michelle Bright, Director of Federal Programs and Special Education; Nic Mounts, High School Principal; Davey Jones, Middle School Principal; Penny Smothers, ½ Elementary Principal / ½ Literacy & Content Literacy Facilitator; Rodney Whitfield, Elementary Assistant Principal / ½ Math & Science Facilitator; Tonya Harrison, Secondary Instructional / Curriculum Facilitator;

Under Other Business, the board agreed to engage in a work session for visioning and master plan review on 2/27 at 6pm.

Motion to adjourn was made at 7:53 pm by Dickie Johnson and seconded by Kerry Horn. Motion passed unanimously.

Respectively submitted,

Kerry Horn, Secretary

Larry Harvey, President