15.12.2013

Abortion laws in florida

So far this year, states have enacted 51 new abortion restrictions; this brings the number of restrictions enacted since 2010 to 282.
Even as states continue to pass new abortion restrictions, the Supreme Court is poised to hear one, and maybe two, major abortion cases in the coming year. Although states have adopted a wide range of restrictions so far this year, much of the attention has focused on four areas: waiting periods, abortions after the first trimester, medication abortion and TRAP provisions. Significantly, three of the five states to adopt waiting period requirements this year also require women to receive abortion counseling at the abortion facility, effectively necessitating two trips. Since 2010, 14 states have adopted measures banning abortion at about 20 weeks postfertilization (about 22 weeks after the woman’s last menstrual period) and 11 of these states have laws in effect. For the first time, two states, Kansas and Oklahoma, enacted measures that could ban abortion as early as 14 weeks of pregnancy. Including three that enacted measures this year to limit access to medication abortion, 19 states now restrict this commonly used first-trimester abortion method (see Medication Abortion). Four states enacted measures that impose restrictions on abortion providers beyond what is necessary to ensure patients’ safety.
Arkansas and Tennessee mandated a 48-hour wait between counseling and the abortion procedure. Making multiple trips exacts a high toll on women, many of whom have to travel, often at considerable expense, to obtain the care they need (see A Surge of State Abortion Restrictions Puts Providers—and the Women They Serve—in the Crosshairs).


These new laws use nonmedical, vague and inflammatory language to try to ban abortion procedures commonly used in the second trimester. Although telemedicine is increasingly used to expand access to health care in underserved areas, states have moved aggressively in recent years to ban its use for medication abortion. Typically, these laws take two approaches: establishing physical plant and staffing standards, and requiring abortion providers to have a formal relationship with a hospital (see TRAP Laws Gain Political Traction While Abortion Clinics—and the Women They Serve—Pay the Price). Five states require providers of either medication or surgical abortion services to have admitting privileges at a local hospital.
North Carolina and Oklahoma enacted measures requiring women to wait at least 72 hours, joining Missouri, South Dakota and Utah, which also require women to wait at least three full days for an abortion (see Counseling and Waiting Periods for Abortion). The Kansas law was challenged in early June on the grounds that it violates the state’s constitution by infringing on a woman’s ability to access a safe abortion method and dictating medical practice; the law is not in effect pending resolution of the challenge. Including the new measures enacted this year, 25 states have some form of TRAP law (see Targeted Regulation of Abortion Providers). A new Florida law, which would establish a 24 hour waiting period, has been challenged and it remains to be seen if enforcement of the law will be blocked during the court case.
In mid-June, the Iowa State Supreme Court struck down a regulation banning the use of telemedicine for medication abortion, saying that no evidence supported the imposition of such an undue burden on women; the regulation had not been in effect pending the court decision. This year, Arkansas adopted a new restriction that requires only medication abortion providers to have an agreement with a physician who has admitting privileges; the law does not include a parallel requirement for surgical abortion providers.


Including Florida, as well as Arkansas and Tennessee, the two other states with new legislation this year, 14 states require women to make two trips to obtain an abortion (see map). Continuing its longstanding effort to require abortion providers to have a relationship with a hospital, the state adopted a new law that requires proof of such a relationship as a condition of obtaining a license to operate in the state. The newer evidence-based regimen uses less medication, involves fewer side-effects and visits to the provider and is less expensive; this new regimen is routinely used and is widely recognized as the standard of care for performing medication abortion. Legislation adopted by Tennessee in May would require surgical abortion facilities to meet all the requirements for licensure as an ambulatory surgical center; implementation of the law is blocked pending resolution of a legal challenge.
Twenty-two states impose standards on abortion providers that are comparable to those for ambulatory surgical centers. Arizona and Arkansas adopted a new type of medication abortion restriction: Under these laws, abortion providers are required to inform women that it is possible to stop a medication abortion by giving the woman a large dose of hormones after the mifepristone has been administered, but before the woman takes the misoprostol. However, very little evidence indicates that this works to stop the abortion procedure or that it does not entail medical risks. Arkansas and Indiana now require abortion providers to either incinerate or bury fetal remains.



What medicine can you take when pregnant with a cold
Way of pregnancy
10 facts about teenage pregnancy uk
Can a girl get pregnant with just precum


Comments to «Abortion laws in florida»

  1. ARMAGEDON writes:
    Making an attempt in your child that will help.
  2. ANAR84 writes:
    Earlier than your eighth week some articles list.
  3. FREEBOY writes:
    Biology behind the statement that you.