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“if you don’t say anything you cant get 
in trouble” 



What determines if a pitcher will 
pitch from windup or set - stretch?  

POSITION OF HIS FEET 

Wind-up position –  
Non-pivot foot any position on or behind a line extending 
through the front edge of the pitchers plate 
 
Set position –  
Non-pivot foot in front of line extending thru the front of the 
pitchers plate 
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WINDUP POSITION 

PIVOT FOOT IN CONTACT WITH PITCHERS PLATE 
Non-pivot foot any position on or behind a line 
extending through the front edge of the pitchers plate 
(not entirely in front of) 
 
 
Ball in glove hand or pitching hand 
Pitching hand down to the side or behind his back 



HYBRID --  know this – it is  NOT allowed  
     if you see this in warmups feel free to 
approach the coach and explain why its 
illegal –    

 
Typically the pitcher will do this with no one on base as his 
windup pitch – its still illegal.   

Should the pitcher assume a 
footing position as shown in 
Diagram 11, the moment he 
moves anything but his pivot 
foot, he has committed an 
illegal pitch. He could assume 
this position and legally, 
before coming set or moving 
anything but his pivot foot, 
step backwards from the 
rubber with his pivot foot. 
Rule 6-1-3 states: In order to 
change to the wind-up 
position, he must first step 
clearly backward off the 
pitcher's plate with his pivot 
foot first.  



ENTIRE PIVOT FOOT IN CONTACT WITH OR DIRECTLY IN 
FRONT OF AND PARALLEL  TO PITCHERS PLATE 
 
Ball in glove hand or pitching hand 
Pitching hand down to the side or behind his back 

SET POSITION 

Legal 

PIVOT  FOOT MUST BE 
Completely within the 
24” of the pitcher plate 
 



SET POSITION – continued…  

Go from ready to SET POSITION  without interruption…    (what can 
interruptions be? )  
 
Come to a discernable stop …   what is discernable to you?  Do you just know 
it??    Remember changing directions is not a stop. 
 
Set with  
Ball in both hands in front of his body 
At or below his chin  
 
May turn pivot foot   or  
     lift  it and jump turn to step toward a base to throw or feint a throw   or  
       step backward off the pitchers plate  
(note when he steps back he does not need to go directly back  (pg 39  rule 6-1 
art 3)  just keep the foot partially within the 24” of the pitchers plate 



Other things to remember 
 

When pitcher wears improper clothes, gloves, sweatbands etc -   not true 
penalty just replace it / fix it.   If he doesn’t he cannot pitch – 
 
YOU get to decide if something is distracting -  Rule 6.2.f   
 
Pitcher goes to his mouth and doesn’t wipe it off --  it’s a ball  (ball dead 
immediately)  -    in extreme situation could be a balk  -- if pitcher is in set 
ready and moves his hand to his mouth   - balk because its not part of his 
normal pitching motion  (even if he wipes it off)   wording is – “he shall go to 
the set position without interruptions and in one continuous motion” Rule 6.3 
 
Unique rule wording –  
 
Rule 6 Sect 1  Art 1 -  If pitcher is ambidextrous, he must face the batter as left 
or right hand – he cannot switch one he starts one way or the other --    I 
would say based on the first pitch thrown to a batter.   
 
 



QUESTIONS  re pitchers? 


