2017 ComSoc Paper Awards

To be presented at the Awards Luncheon on Monday, 22 May 2017 from 12:30 - 14:00 on Auteuil, Bagatelle, Grand Palais Royal, Level 1, Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile.

All papers are available in Xplore, and are accessible by clicking on the paper titles. Xplore subscription is required.

IEEE Communications Society Best Survey Paper Award
"Stochastic Geometry for Modeling, Analysis, and Design of Multi-Tier and Cognitive Cellular Wireless Networks: A Survey", IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials,, Vol.15, No.3, pp. 996-1019, Third Quarter 2013.
Hesham ElSawy, Ekram Hossain, Martin Haenggi

IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award
"Energy-Efficient Information and Communication Infrastructures in the Smart Grid: A Survey on Interactions and Open Issues", IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials,, Vol. 17, No. 1, pp. 179-197, First Quarter 2015.
Melike Erol-Kantarci and Hussein Mouftah

IEEE Communications Society Charles Kao Award for Best Optical Communications & Networking Paper
"Sliceable transponder architecture including multiwavelength source", IEEE Journal of Optical Communications & Networking,, Vol. 6, No. 7, pp. 590 - 600, July 2014.
Nicola Sambo, Antonio D'Errico, Claudio Porzi, Valeria Vercesi, Muhammad Imran, Filippo Cugini, Antonella Bogoni, Luca Poti, and Pietro Castold

IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize
"Cache in the air: exploiting content caching and delivery techniques for 5G systems", IEEE Communications Magazine,, Vol. 52, Issue 2, Page 131-139, February 2014.
Xiaofei Wang, Min Chen, Tarik Taleb, Adlen Ksentini, and Victor C.M. Leung

IEEE Communications Society Heinrich Hertz Award for Best Communications Letter & Wireless Communications Letter
"Full-Duplex Wireless-Powered Relay With Self-Energy Recycling", IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 4, No.2, pp. 201-204, April 2015.
Yong Zeng, Rui Zhang

IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize
"Multipair Full-Duplex Relaying With Massive Arrays and Linear Processing", IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications,, Vol. 32, No. 9, pp. 1721 – 1737, September 2014.
Hien Quoc Ngo, Himal A. Suraweera, Michail Matthaiou, and Erik G. Larsson

IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize
"Coordinated Multipoint Joint Transmission in Heterogeneous Networks", IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 62, No. 11, pp. 4134 - 4146, November 2014.
Gaurav Nigam, Paolo Minero, and Martin Haenggi

IEEE Communications Society William R. Bennett Prize
"Multipath TCP: Analysis, Design, and Implementation", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking,, Vol. 24, No. 1, pp. 596 – 609, February 2016.
Qiuyu Peng, Anwar Walid, Jeahyun Hwang, and Steven Low

IEEE Communications Society Young Author Best Paper Award
"Resource Allocation in Spectrum Sharing OFDMA Femtocells with Heterogeneous Services", IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 62, No. 7, pp. 2366-2377, July 2014.
Haijun Zhang, Chunxiao Jiang, Norman C. Beaulieu, Xiaoli Chu, Xiangming Wen, and Meixia Tao

IEEE Communications Society Award for Advances in Communication
"Fundamental trade-offs on green wireless networks", IEEE Communications Magazine,, Vol. 49, No. 6, pp. 30 – 37, June 2011.
Yan Chen, Shunqing Zhang, Shugong Xu, and Geoffrey Ye Li

IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award
"List Decoding of Polar Codes" IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, Vol. 61, No. 5, pp 2213 - 2226, May 2015.
Ido Tal and Alexander Vardy

IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications
"Spatially Sparse Precoding in Millimeter Wave MIMO Systems",IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications,, Vol. 13, No. 3, pp 1499 - 1513, March 2014.
Omar El Ayach, Sridhar Rajagopal, Shadi Abu-Surra, Zhouyue Pi, and Robert W. Heath