

Old State Capitol and Public Square

Thomas D. Clark Kentucky History Center

Kentucky Military History Museum

Winners of the Richard H. Collins Award (by award year)

- 2022 | Kevin McPartland, University of Cincinnati
- 2021 | Joseph C. Douglas, Volunteer State Community College, and Marion O. Smith, Independent Scholar (co-authors)
- 2020 | Jonathan Coleman, Independent Scholar/Blue Grass Trust for Historic Preservation
- 2019 | Crystal Feimster, Yale University
- 2018 | Alyssa Warrick, Mississippi State University
- 2017 | S. Zebulon Baker, Miami University
- 2016 | Andrea Smalley, Northern Illinois University
- 2015 | J. Michael Crane, University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
- 2014 | J. Michael Rhyne, Urbana University
- 2013 | Jacob F. Lee, Indiana University
- 2012 | Aaron Astor, Maryville College
- 2011 | Gerald L. Smith, University of Kentucky
- 2010 | Jeffery Duvall, Independent Scholar
- 2009 | Robert S. Weise, Eastern Kentucky University
- 2008 | Elizabeth D. Leonard, Colby College
- 2007 | Charles L. Davis, University of Kentucky
- 2006 | Tracy K'Meyer, University of Louisville
- 2005 | John David Smith, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
- 2004 | Andrew Lee Feight, Shawnee State University, and Richard Taylor, Kentucky State University (tie)
- 2003 | Melanie Beals Goan, University of Kentucky
- 2002 | Richard E. Holl, Hazard Community College, and Robert M. Ireland, University of Kentucky (tie)
- 2001 | Berry Craig, Paducah Community College
- 2000 | Anne E. Marshall, University of Georgia
- 1999 | Hugh Ridenour, independent scholar
- 1998 | James C. Carper, University of South Carolina
- 1997 | Harry Liver, University of Kentucky
- 1996 | Chad Berry, Maryville College
- 1995 | Robert M. Ireland, University of Kentucky
- 1994 | Ellen Eslinger, DePaul University
- 1993 | Marion B. Lucas, Western Kentucky University
- 1992 | A. Gwynn Henderson, University of Kentucky
- 1991 | Peter B. Knupfer, Arizona State University









- 1990 | Robert M. Ireland, University of Kentucky
- 1989 | John M. Glen, Ball State University
- 1988 | John David Smith, North Carolina State University
- 1987 | Charles P. Roland, University of Kentucky
- 1986 | William E. Ellis, Eastern Kentucky University
- 1985 | Thomas D. Clark, emeritus, University of Kentucky and Indiana University
- 1984 | William J. Marshall, University of Kentucky, and Frank F. Mathias, University of Dayton (tie)
- 1983 | George W. Robinson, Eastern Kentucky University
- 1982 | James B. Murphy, Southern Illinois University
- 1981 | Lowell H. Harrison, Western Kentucky University
- 1980 | George C. Wright, University of Kentucky
- 1979 | Dale Royalty, East Tennessee University