

Old State Capitol and Public Square

Thomas D. Clark Kentucky History Center

Kentucky Military History Museum

Governor's Award Past Winners (by award year)

2019

Amy Murrell Taylor, Embattled Freedom: Journeys Through the Civil War's Slave Refugee Camps (2018)

2015

Katherine Mooney, Race Horse Men: How Slavery and Freedom Were Made at the Racetrack (2014)

2011

Craig Thompson Friend, Kentucke's Frontiers (2011)

2007

James C. Klotter, Kentucky Justice, Southern Honor, and American Manhood: Understanding the Life and Death of Richard Reid (2003)

2003

Kenneth H. Noe, Perryville: This Grand Havoc of Battle (2001)

1999

William E. Ellis, Robert Worth Bingham and the Southern Mystique (1997)

1995

John Mack Faragher, Daniel Boone: The Life and Legend of an American Pioneer (1992)

1991

George C. Wright, *Racial Violence in Kentucky, 1865-1940: Lynchings, Mob Rule, and "Legal Lynchings"* (1990)

1987

James A. Ramage, Rebel Raider: The Life of John Hunt Morgan (1986) and George C. Wright, Life Behind the Veil: Blacks in Louisville, Kentucky, 1865-1930 (1985) Shared Award

1983

John Gaventa, *Power and Powerlessness: Quiescence and Rebellion in an Appalachian Valley* (1980)









1979

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau, Federal Courts in the Early Republic: Kentucky, 1789-1816 (1978)