
2018 LCSA - 10U  “No Walk Rule” 
 

Herndon/Reston, Leesburg, Lower Loudoun & Western Loudoun 
 
Batters CANNOT reach first base on a walk.  Ball 4 does not entitle the batter to first base, 
but shall result in the coaches pitching to their own batters.  
 
A player pitcher pitches to the batter - balls and strikes are called up to the point that a walk 
would be issued. At that time, the coach or an adult assistant for the team at bat pitches to the 
batter. The number of pitches that can be thrown by the adult pitcher is determined by the 
number of remaining strikes left on the batter at the time of the fourth ball. If the batter had no 
strikes, then up to three pitches can be thrown. If one strike, up to two pitches. If two strikes, 
then one pitch can be thrown.  The coach pitcher must be on the field of play directly between 
home plate and second base – WITHIN THE PITCHING CIRCLE. 
 
When the coach comes out to pitch to a batter, the batter will retain the number of strikes she 
had when ball 4 was thrown.  The coach will pitch to her until: 
 
A) She strikes out swinging (no called strikes when a coach pitches) based on count 
B) She puts the ball in play, or 
C) She does not make contact on the last allowable pitch from the coach 
D) If she fouls off the last allowable pitch, she may continue to bat until either (A, B, or C)      
occurs 
 
A coach pitch will be declared unhittable if it is thrown over the batter’s head, below the batter’s 
ankles, or more than two ball widths on either side of the plate. An unhittable pitch will only 
come into play on the last allowable pitch and is a judgment call made by the umpire.  No 
more than two (2) unhittable pitches are allowed per batter. 
 
The coach must not come onto the field until the play is over. There is no Stealing or Bunting 
when there is a coach pitcher on the field.   
 
Coach Pitcher while on the field in fair territory MUST stay completely quite once a ball is 
pitched/put in play.  The coach pitcher can talk to the batter before the pitch. 
 
Coach Pitch Interference: The adult pitcher must not interfere (**see below**). If interference 
occurs, a dead ball will be declared. All runners must stop and return to the base they occupied 
just before the interference occurred.  In the case of the batter/runner – she goes back to home 
plate and is declared OUT. 
 
**A coach is deemed to have interfered by the following**:  
1 - By touching the ball in play;  
2 - Being in the way of a player trying to field/catch the ball; 
3 - Being in the way of a player trying to throw the ball  
 
Coach Pitcher Hit by Batted Ball: The adult pitcher must make every attempt possible to get out 
of the way of a hard-hit ball directly back up the middle.  If in the umpire’s opinion, the ball was 
hit too hard for the Coach Pitcher to get out of the way – the following will happen.  The play will 
be stopped with a “Dead Ball” call.  The batter will be awarded first base, and any additional 
runners will be advanced ONLY if forced by the batter/runner.  If in the umpire’s opinion, the 
coach could have gotten out of the way – revert to the Interference section above. 


