TRANSIT ADVISORY BOARD WebEx Meeting January 24, 2022 MEETING MINUTES

Dania Aponte Drew Raessler, DOT Allison Bickers Karl Von Hagel, DOT LaSandra Boykin Andrea Foard, DOT James Darden Reginald Bryant, DOT Roderick Cockerham, DOT Ed Finnegan Neil Fusillo Marcia Lankford, DOT Walter Kolis **AAC Members Present** Bernadette Townsend, DOT Ken Marlin Cherie Newton Derrick Walker, DOT

Cherie Newton Clintina Mitchell Mary Kate Morookian, Kimley-Horn and

David Persson Shelly Simmons Associates

Mark Riggans Swannie Wilson Derrice Haynes, Kimley-Horn and

Ron Roberts Thomas Sibley Associates

Forrest Shealy Eric Meyer, Public

Jeff Souther AAC Members Not Present Sarah Blankenship, Public

Matt Stigall Darryl Howell

I. <u>Call to Order:</u>

Chair Bickers welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order with quorum present at 6:04 p.m.

II. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES

AAC: Chair Newton delayed approval of AAC November 15, 2021 meeting minutes to the AAC March 21, 2022 meeting due to no quorum present.

TAB: Motion made by **Mr. Roberts** to approve, seconded by **Mr. Shealy**, all members present voted in favor to approve the TAB November 22, 2021 meeting minutes and the December 12, 2021 special call meeting minutes.

III. OLD BUSINESS

A. Introduction of New AAC Member

Shelly Simmons introduced herself to the TAB and AAC members and provided her background. **Chair Newton** welcomed Ms. Simmons to the AAC as a new member.

B. MSPLOST and HB930

Chair Bickers welcomed Chairwoman Lisa Cupid to the Joint TAB/AAC meeting.

Chairwoman Cupid had extended an invitation to Chris Tomlinson of the ATL to attend the meeting. **Chairwoman Cupid** informed TAB of the details of the recent federal infrastructure bill and its relation to the Comprehensive Transportation Plan and potential transportation/transit referendum being considered by the Board of Commissioners. **Chairwoman Cupid** asked Chris Tomlinson to discuss the CTP as it relates to HB930.

Chris Tomlinson, Executive Director of The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL), provided an overview of Cobb County's options pertaining to the following:

- (1) The MARTA Act for Cobb County to join MARTA
- (2) HB930
- (3) Traditional 5-Year SPLOST

TAB members discussed a recommendation to support the BOC adoption of the CTP. **Chair Bickers** summarized the language of the recommendation, which requested an addendum from the BOC that outlines the purpose and vision of the CTP and the need for flexibility, additions, and revisions to the ARTP project list in the coming months for the consideration of the HB930 project list. **Chair Bickers** called for a vote on the recommendation.

Vote from TAB members: Mr. Persson (no); Mr. Souther (yes); Mr. Shealy (no); Mr. Fusillo (yes); Mr. Stigall (no); Ms. Aponte (yes); Mr. Finnegan (no); Ms. Boykin (yes); Mr. Marlin (yes); Mr. Riggans (yes); Mr. Kolis (yes); Chair Bickers (yes); Ms. Simmons (abstained). The motion, as summarized by Chair Bickers, passed with 8 yes votes and 4 no votes.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

V. NEXT MEETING/ADJOURNMENT

As there was no further business, it was moved by **Mr. Souther** and seconded by **Mr. Marlin** to adjourn the meeting.

February 28, 2022
Approved