

Partner Christie Grymes Thompson Named "Advertising Lawyer of the Year"

August 17, 2015

Kelley Drye & Warren LLP announced that partner Christie Grymes Thompson, chair of the Advertising and Marketing practice group, has been named the *Best Lawyers* 2016 Advertising Law "Lawyer of the Year" in Washington, D.C. The firm has held the distinction five times previously. Kelley Drye's firm managing partner was the recipient of the 2014 honor, which was previously held by partners William C. MacLeod (2013), Gonzalo E. Mon (2012) and John E. Villafranco (2011).

The "Lawyer of the Year" designation is based entirely on a comprehensive peer-review survey in which leading attorneys cast approximately five million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas. Because this is a peer designation and there is no listing fee, the *Best Lawyers* methodology is structured to capture consensus opinion about the attorneys who deserve to be commended for their abilities, professionalism, and integrity.

In addition to serving as chair of the Advertising and Marketing practice group, Ms. Thompson also chairs the Consumer Product Safety practice group. She focuses her practice on consumer protection matters, including advertising, product safety, competitor challenges, and promotions. Ms. Thompson advises national advertisers and consumer products manufacturers on how to keep regulators, competitors, and consumers from knocking on their door with a legal challenge and, if they do knock, she helps them answer and defend the marketing claims at issue. She counsels clients on all aspects of regulatory compliance, with a focus on statutes and regulations enforced by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and state Attorneys General. Ms. Thompson is ranked nationally as a leading practitioner in the Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory area by *Chambers USA*.

Four other Kelley Drye advertising law attorneys were also selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America[©] 2016. William C. MacLeod, Gonzalo E. Mon, Dana B. Rosenfeld, and John E. Villafranco were recognized for their outstanding reputations and excellence in legal work.