What Unites Us


Available wherever books and ebooks are sold

What Unites Us

"I find myself thinking deeply about what it means to love America, as I surely do."

At a moment of crisis over our national identity, venerated journalist Dan Rather has emerged as a voice of reason and integrity, reflecting on—and writing passionately about—what it means to be an American. Now, with this collection of original essays, he reminds us of the principles and freedoms that define us. He traces where we have been in order to help us chart a way forward and heal our bitter divisions. With a fundamental sense of hope, What Unites Us is the book to inspire conversation and listening, and to remind us all how we are, finally, one.

“Interweaving sweet personal stories with history, [Rather] makes a simple, compelling case for America …These essays sound alarm bells but cohere into a clear-eyed love letter to U.S.A. A tonic for disaffected millennials and conservative grandpas alike.” People Book of the Week

On Empathy

Click here for a preview of What Unites Us – the book's first essay, “On Empathy.”


On Air

Watch and listen to these thoughtful interviews:

On Tour

Saturday, November 4, TBD

Austin, TX | Four Seasons Hotel

Monday, November 6, TBD

Brooklyn, NY | Brooklyn Academy of Music

Wednesday, November 8, 7:30pm

Philadelphia, PA | Montgomery Auditorium SOLD OUT

Thursday, November 9, TBD

Washington, DC | GWU Lisner Auditorium

Sunday, November 12, TBD

Miami, FL | Miami Book Fair

Tuesday, November 14, TBD

Nashville, TN | War Memorial

Thursday, November 16, TBD

Dallas, TX | First Methodist Church SOLD OUT

Sunday, November 19, 7:30pm

Dunwoody, GA | Marcus JCC of Atlanta SOLD OUT

Monday, November 20, TBD

Denver, CO | Tattered Cover SOLD OUT

Wednesday, November 29, TBD

Chicago, IL | Anderson’s Bookshop

Thursday, November 30, 7:30pm

Minneapolis, MN | Hopkins Center for the Arts

Friday, December 1, 11:00am

Minneapolis, MN | Hopkins Center for the Arts SOLD OUT

Tuesday, December 5 , 8:00pm

Riverside, CA | The Fox Performing Arts Center

Wednesday, December 6, 7:00pm

San Rafael, CA | Dominican University SOLD OUT

Thursday, December 7, 7:00pm

Seattle, WA | University Temple SOLD OUT

Wednesday, December 13, TBD

Houston, TX | Brazos Bookstore

Thursday, December 14, TBD

Katy, TX | Books-A-Million

Thursday, January 11, TBD

Boston, MA | Berklee College of Music

Tuesday, January 23, 7:00pm

New York, NY | 92Y

Dan Rather (C)Sean Grabin

Ben Baker/Redux

About Dan Rather

With a famed and storied career that has spanned more than six decades, Dan Rather has earned his place as one of the world’s best-known journalists. He has interviewed every president since Eisenhower and, over that time, personally covered almost every important dateline in the United States and around the world. Rather joined CBS News in 1962. He quickly rose through the ranks, and in 1981 he assumed the position of Anchor and Managing Editor of the CBS Evening News—a post he held for twenty-four years. His reporting across the network helped turn 60 Minutes into an institution, launched 48 Hours as an innovative news magazine program, and shaped countless specials and documentaries. Upon leaving CBS, Rather returned to the in-depth reporting he always loved, creating the Emmy Award winning Dan Rather Reports on HDNet. Now, building upon that foundation, he is president and CEO of News and Guts, an independent production company he founded that specializes in high-quality nonfiction content across a range of traditional and digital distribution channels.

Algonquin Logo