## Bethany Lutheran Church Annual Meeting

## January 30, 2022

Meeting was held in the sanctuary as well as via ZOOM.

In person began at 9:15am

Pam Crouse opened the meeting with some housekeeping notes. Specifically reminding all on our protocol for hybrid meeting (sanctuary and Zoom). Pam recognized Jim Pannier as our parliamentarian.

Quorum has been reached. (101 in person, 54 on Zoom)

Pastor Arthur opened with an introduction and thank you to Pastor Laurie Skaw Anderson and Pastor Kaufmann. He shared some comments about our gifts and our finances. An announcement was made about returning to normal schedule. Only the 8am service will be "Masked Required". All other services/events will be "Masks Recommended". Pastor A indicated he would not be in favor of relitigating RIC however, we will not be implementing any other RIC actions at this time. We need a break and need to move ahead.

Agenda Approval: hearing no additions, agenda passes by unanimous consent.

Approval of Annual Meeting Minutes: hearing no additions, minutes are approved by unanimous consent

Approval of Special Meeting Minutes: hearing no additions, minutes are approved by unanimous consent

Committee Reports: no discussion on reports

Trust Fund Report: Ted Hakala, chair of trust Fund has a few words about the trust fund report. TF was able to give over \$34K in gifts. Candidates for Trust Fund are: Roxie Olson, Don Storm, Carol Sevals, and Peg Martin.

Nomination of Council Members: Paul Baribeau introduced that we have 9 members running for Council this year. Three calls for nominations from the floor. Hearing non from the floor, we will begin voting. You may vote for 0-6 candidates. Any ballot that has more than 6 council members voted for will be a non-ballot. The 6 people with the most votes will be elected. If there is a tie for 6<sup>th</sup> place, the winner will be decided by a coin flip. Are there any objections to these rules? Non heard. Nominations are closed. Please fill out your ballot. Zoom members are voting by poll.

We took a short break while the Zoom participants voted.

Trust Fund Candidates: Bill Evans moved to accept the slate of candidates (listed above). Bun Hanson seconded. Three calls for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, the nominations are now closed. Voice votes, motion carries unanimously. Congratulations to the 4 nominees

Election of the Nominating Committee: We need 5 people to be on the nominating committee. Brad Wiedemann has volunteered as an outgoing council member. Nominations from the floor: Jim Kusilek nominates himself. Joe Erickson nominates himself. Bun Hanson nominates Lynn Koob. Larry Brown nominates himself. Amy Pelle nominates Sonja Wilson. Dave Wilson moves that we close nominations. Nominations are now closed. Discussion on 6 nominees, we only need 5. We are grateful to have more people sharing this task so we will go with all 6 nominations. Voice vote, motion carries unanimously.

Election of Synod Assembly Members: This year will be a hybrid meeting. We need 3 delegates from Bethany. Are there any nominations from the floor? Tyler Westphal nominates Joe Erickson. Bun Hanson nominates Paul Hanson. Jan Wilking nominate herself. Ric Brekke moves to accept the three delegates. Jennifer Nelson seconded. Voice vote, motion carries unanimously.

Election of Luther Park representatives: We normally elect people a year ahead of time. However, we have gotten behind. This year, we need to elect three nominees for the 2022 annual meeting at Luther Park which will be next Saturday and held hybrid. Kara Lundequam nominates herself. Laurie Carlson nominates Eric Carlson. No other nominations from the floor. Diane Peterson moves to accept the slate. Eldon Vrieze seconded. Voice vote, motion carries unanimously.

Nominees for the 2023 Luther Park Annual Meeting. Jennifer Nelson has nominated herself. Melissa Tomesh nominates Laurie Carlson. Dave Myre nominates Mike Bock. Nominations are closed. Andrew Denison moves to accept the slate of candidates. Bill Evans seconded. Voice vote, motion carries unanimously.

Approval of Budget: Bill Evans moves to approve the 2022 budget. Kevin Jacobson seconded. Discussion – Bill Evans, Council representative opened with some remarks about the budget. Thanked the staff for all their hard work on the budget and for their diligence in working through the 2021 shortfall. Our 2022 budget is also showing a short fall.

Joe Erickson – who is co-chair of finance committee offers an amendment to the budget: Amendment made by Joe Erickson to have 2 more congregational meetings (March and June) in 2022 for the Council to report to the congregation on our progress on the budget. Bun Hanson 2<sup>nd</sup>. Bill asked if these would be informational or voting. Joe suggested voting. Bun did not 2<sup>nd</sup> thinking this would be a voting meeting. If it is a voting meeting, he would withdraw his 2<sup>nd</sup>. Dave Hildebrand does not agree with this being a voting meeting. Joe withdrawals "voting" therefore Bun's 2<sup>nd</sup> stands. Voice vote, many yes votes, a few no votes, no abstentions. Motion carries.

Voice vote for the budget – motion carries.

Other Business: Pam has a few thank yous. Bill Evans also has a thank you to Mike Bock for doing our internal audit this year.

Council Election Results: Bill Evans, Alexa Giddings, Ted Hakala, Tammy Roberg, Bun Hanson and Audrey Kusilek.

Next Annual Meeting: January 29, 2023.