MARCH 2019 VOL. 6, NO. 3
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Duberstein Moot Court Competition Highlights

The 27th Annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition was held in New York March 2-4. Sponsored by St. John’s School of Law and ABI, it is the nation’s only moot court competition devoted to bankruptcy law. One of the nation’s largest appellate competitions, it is named for distinguished St. John’s alumnus and former ABI Director Hon. Conrad B. Duberstein, who passed away in 2005 at the age of 90.

The winning team from SMU Dedman School of Law received a $5,000 prize from the ABI Endowment Fund. The second-place team from the University of Miami School of Law earned a $3,000 prize. Teams from the University of Mississippi School of Law and the University of Texas at Austin School of Law shared the third-place $3,000 prize. 

There was also an auction during the Duberstein Competition to raise money for the Endowment. ABI thanks the following winners: Kai Zhu (Greenberg Traurig, LLP; Washington, D.C.), Frank A. Oswald (Togut, Segal & Segal LLP; New York), John T. Carroll, III (Cozen O’Connor; Wilmington, Del.), Eric L. Scherling (Cozen O’Connor; Philadelphia), Gary F. Herbst (LaMonica Herbst & Maniscalco, LLP; Wantagh, N.Y.), Richard L. Stehl (Otterbourg PC; New York) and Dave Kornstein.


Gotham Hall

Duberstein participants and guests were treated to a final night gala and awards ceremony in the grand ballroom of Gotham Hall in Manhattan.

1st Place Team

Omar J. Alaniz (Baker Botts LLP; Dallas) (r) and Liz N. Boydston (K&L Gates; Dallas) (c) coached the winning team from SMU Dedman School of Law.

12nd Place Team

The runner-up team from the University of Miami with Prof. Christine Lazaro (St. John’s School of Law; Queens, N.Y.) (l) and finals judge Hon. Pamela Pepper (U.S. District Court (E.D. Wis.); Milwaukee) (r).

ASM Endowment Reception / bourbon‑tasting

There will be an Endowment bourbon-tasting reception for donors, sponsored by Omni Management Group, Inc., Perkins Coie LLP, Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP and Stretto, during ABI’s Annual Spring Meeting in Washington, D.C. The reception, taking place April 12, is by invitation only and will include new donors at the Sustaining Member level and up. For more information on how to join us at this special event, visit or contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan. To register for the conference, visit


Endowment Reception/Bourbon-Tasting

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Jennifer M. McLemore  photo
Ericka F. Johnson
Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP

Jennifer M. McLemore  photo
Jennifer M. McLemore
Chistian & Barton, LLP

Victor Owens photo
Victor Owens
East West Bank

James A.Peko photo
James A. Peko
Grant Thornton LLP

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street (US) LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2019 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314