JANUARY 2019 VOL. 6, NO. 1
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Endowment Hockey Event at Paskay

On Feb. 7, watch the Tampa Bay Lightning take on the St. Louis Blues at Amalie Arena while networking in a luxury box reserved for the event. Tickets are $100 per person, and the event is being held in conjunction with the annual Paskay Seminar in Tampa, Fla. There are a limited number of tickets for this event, so be sure to sign up today! Thanks go to Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP for donating the suite and tickets. All proceeds benefit the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Visit abi.org/events or call (703) 739-0800 for more information.

hockey graphic

What the Endowment Funds

In addition to research and scholarships, the ABI Endowment Funds supports law school and business school competitions.

ABI’s 15th Annual Corporate Restructuring Competition was held on Nov. 9 in Chicago, and a team of students from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania took top honors for the fourth consecutive year. This was the school’s seventh time overall earning the Bettina M. Whyte Trophy, which is presented each year to the winning team. The Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund provided cash prizes of $6,000, $3,500 and $2,500 for the top three teams, respectively.


Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition Gala and Awards

In March, the 27th Annual Duberstein Moot Court Competition will feature 60 teams. The competition, funded by the Endowment Fund, is the nation’s only moot court competition devoted to bankruptcy law. One of the nation’s largest appellate competitions, it’s named for distinguished St. John’s alumnus and former ABI Director Hon. Conrad B. Duberstein, who passed away in 2005 at the age of 90.

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Rory D. Whelehan photo
Rory D. Whelehan
Whelehan Law, LLC

Robert C. Furr< photo
Robert C. Furr
Furr & Cohen, PA

W. Timothy Miller photo
W. Timothy Miller
Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Hank Shelton photo
Hank Shelton
Adams and Reese LLP

Margaret R. Westbrook photo
Margaret R. Westbrook
K&L Gates LLP

Scott A. Wolfson photo
Scott A. Wolfson
Wolfson Bolton PLLC

ABI’s Amazon Wish List

Looking for an easy and unique way to give to the ABI Endowment? Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the Endowment Fund! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at amazon.com under a special “ABI Wish List.” Pick out items now for silent auctions that will be held at upcoming conferences, and be sure to place your own bids at those conferences.

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street (US) LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2019 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314