APRIL 2019 VOL. 6, NO. 4
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

ABI's Commission on Consumer Bankruptcy Releases Final Report at Annual Spring Meeting

The ABI Commission on Consumer Bankruptcy was created in December 2016 to research and recommend improvements to the consumer bankruptcy system that can be implemented within its existing structure. After soliciting public feedback, Commission members identified nearly 50 discrete issues for study and divided these issues among three advisory committees composed of 52 bankruptcy professionals. The commissioners and committee members represent all diverse stakeholders in the bankruptcy system.

On April 11, the Commission unveiled its final report of recommendations. Two days later, an educational session hosted by the Consumer Bankruptcy Committee was held at ABI's Annual Spring Meeting, during which panelists discussed these findings in detail. A reception was held afterward to celebrate the fruition of this Endowment-supported enterprise.


Commissioners and Reporter

Pictured (l-r): Hon. Elizabeth L. Perris (ret.), Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff (ret.), Prof. Robert M. Lawless and Hon. Willam Houston Brown (ret.).

Final Report

Donors Honored at the Annual Spring Meeting

At the Saturday Luncheon of this year's Annual Spring Meeting, Vice President-Development Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC) presented awards to members who have reached milestones in Endowment giving.

David Leibowitz

David P. Leibowitz (Lakelaw)
New Lifetime Member
Jennifer McLemore

Jennifer M. McLemore (Williams Mullen)
New Sustaining Member
Victor Owens

Victor Owens
(East West Bank)
New Sustaining Member
Ericka Johnson and John Jay Lieberman

Ericka F. Johnson (Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP) and Jon Jay Lieberman (Sottile & Barile LLC)
New Benefactor Members


ABI thanks the following members for participating in the silent auction during the Annual Spring Meeting in April. The winners included Bernadette M. Barron (Barron Business Consulting; Chicago), J. Ford Elsaesser (Elsaesser Anderson Chtd.; Sandpoint, Idaho), Steven S. Flores (Rhode Island Legal Services, Inc.; Providence, R.I.), Douglas M. Foley (McGuireWoods LLP; Washington, D.C.), Peter Hartheimer (Sherwood Partners, Inc.; New York), Hon. Mary Jo Heston (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (W.D. Wash.); Tacoma), Robert J. Keach (Bernstein Shur; Portland, Maine), Suzanne Koenig (SAK Management Services, LLC; Riverwoods, Ill.), Donald R. Lassman (Law Office of Donald R. Lassman; Needham, Mass.), Claire Ann Resop (Steinhilber Swanson LLP; Madison, Wis.), Amanda Dalton Stafford (NextGear Capital, Inc.; Indianapolis), John W. Weiss (Alston & Bird LLP; New York) and Oliver Zurbel (BMC Group/SmartRoom; Hawthorne, Calif.).

Auction winners

Ford Elsaesser and his wife, Jean, won tickets to see the Stanley Cup Champion Washington Capitals.


An Endowment bourbon-tasting reception was held during ABI’s Annual Spring Meeting in mid-April in Washington, D.C. The invitation-only event was sponsored by Omni Management Group, Inc., Perkins Coie LLP, Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP and Stretto and included new donors at the Sustaining Member level and up.

Bourbon Tasting Sponsors

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

B-B logo
Bernstein-Burkley, P.C.
Plan Administrator of Berkline/BenchCraft Furniture Liquidating Plan

Hon. Robert D. Drain  photo
Hon. Robert D. Drain
U.S. Bankruptcy Court (S.D.N.Y.)

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street (US) LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2019 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314