MARCH 2018 VOL. 5, NO. 3
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

The ABI Endowment Teams Up with the Mariano Rivera Foundation to Benefit Puerto Rican Hurricane Victims

Former New York Yankee legend Mariano Rivera and his family foundation will join together with ABI to benefit Puerto Rico relief on April 4. The event will be held from 6:00-8:30 p.m. at the famed New York Athletic Club on Central Park South. The Rivera Foundation does great work for youth in Puerto Rico. Learn more about their mission at Please join us and meet him after the opening day of the Yankees’ season. This event is a great opportunity to network with your colleagues over appetizers and an open bar while raising much-needed funds to benefit hurricane victims in Puerto Rico.

register today

Premium Sponsors:
Rust Omni  Proskauer  
Gold Sponsors:
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP; EisnerAmper LLP; FTI Consulting, Inc.; Gavin/Solmonese; Greenberg Traurig, LLP; McGuireWoods LLP; Richards, Layton & Finger, PA; Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and VR Capital Group.

Silver Sponsors:
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP; Court Solutions LLC; Getzler Henrich & Associates LLC; Phoenix Management Services; Polsinelli; and Reorg Research, Inc.

Benefit for Puerto Rico


New donors who pledge or contribute at the Sustaining Member Level and above ($2,000 and up) will be recognized during the luncheon on Friday, April 20, and are invited to The Endowment's Dessert Reception later that night. There will also be an opportunity immediately following the Final Night Dinner for an exclusive "meet & greet" with funnyman Jim Belushi.

What the Fund Pays for

The 26th Annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition was held in New York March 3-5 in the wake of a brutal nor’easter that pummeled the northeast. Sponsored by St. John’s School of Law and ABI, it is the nation’s only moot court competition devoted to bankruptcy law. One of the nation’s largest appellate competitions, it’s named for distinguished St. John’s alumnus and former ABI Director Hon. Conrad B. Duberstein, who passed away in 2005 at the age of 90.

Alabama Law team

The winning Alabama Law team received a $5,000 prize from the ABI Endowment Fund, which also provided the second-place George Washington Law team with a $3,000 prize. Teams from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law and the University of Texas at Austin School of Law tied for third place and split a $3,000 prize.

Anonymous donation: $50,000

ABI is pleased to announce a gift of $50,000.00, one of the largest gifts ever received. Although the party wishes to remain anonymous, we thank them for their support. The gift was made possible by the naming of ABI as the beneficiary of the remnant assets of a case. To find out how to name the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund as a beneficiary in a case, click here.

New Donor Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

New Century Council Member
Donald A. Workman photo
Donald A. Workman
BakerHostetler LLP

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – GCG
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2018 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314