JUNE 2018 VOL. 5, NO. 6
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

L.A. Wine Dinner: A Great Endowment Tradition

Join ABI on October 3rd for what has become an elegant tradition benefitting the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. ABI is again joining forces with Upstairs 2 at Los Angeles’s premier wine purveyor — the Wine House — to bring you an unparalleled dining experience. Upstairs 2 promises an exceptional event, with wine and its marriage to food to be long-remembered. The Chef de Cuisine will custom-design a multi-course wine-pairing dinner enhanced by creative preparation and highlighted by seasonal ingredients.This event will sell out!

Development Specialists Inc., Donlin Recano, East West Bank and FTI Consulting, Inc.

Register Today

Western Region Endowment Wine Dinner

$2,000 for a table (includes 8 tickets)
$1,200 for half a table (includes 4 tickets)

Second Annual Golf & Tennis Outing in New Jersey

ABI will co-host the Second Annual GSCA/NYIC/ABI Golf & Tennis Outing on Sept. 24 at Cedar Hill Country Club in Livingston, N.J. The picturesque course features “twin” Par 3s, with the 10th playing straight downhill and the 16th recapturing the Clubhouse level. From the back tees, the course measures 6,447 yards and plays to a slope rated 129. For sponsorship opportunities, contact Sarah Kunhs; more information will be posted later at abi.org/events.


Cedar Hill Country Club

2018 Central States Bankruptcy Workshop

Central States Bankruptcy Workshop Silent Auction

Thank you to the following auction partipants at the Central States Bankruptcy Workshop:

Auction Donors: A. Todd Almassian, Keller & Almassian, PLC (Grand Rapids, MI); Carla Andres & Tim Nixon, Godfrey & Kahn SC (Green Bay, WI); Richard E. Kruger, Jaffe Raitt Heuer & Weiss (Southfield, MI); Richard S. Lauter, Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP (Chicago, IL); James A. Lodoen, Ballard Spahr LLP (Minneapolis, MN); Evelyn Meltzer, Pepper Hamilton LLP (Wilmington, DE); Richard D. Nelson, Cohen, Todd, Kite & Stanford, LLC (Cincinnati, OH); Elizabeth B. Vandesteeg, Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Helsinger LLP (Chicago, IL); and Hon. Mary Ann Whipple, U.S. Bankruptcy Court (Toledo, OH).

Auction Winners: Donald Allen, Mawicke & Goisman, SC (Milwaukee, WI); E. Phillip Groben, Gensburg Calandriello & Kanter, P.C. (Chicago, IL); John W. Guzzardo, Horwood Marcus & Berk Chartered (Chicago, IL); Jeffrey S. Hokanson, Ice Miller LLP (Indianapolis, IN); Richard E. Kruger, Jaffe Raitt Heuer & Weiss (Southfield, MI); Alan D. Lasko, Alan D. Lasko & Associates PC (Chicago, IL); Brittany S. Ogden, Quarles Brady (Madison, WI); James D. Sweet, Steinhilber Swanson LLP (Madison, WI); Elizabeth B. Vandesteeg, Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Helsinger LLP (Chicago, IL); Eric E. Walker, Perkins Coie LLP (Chicago, IL); Hon. Mary Ann Whipple, U.S. Bankruptcy Court (Toledo, OH); and Barbara L. Yong, Golan Christie Taglia, LLP (Chicago, IL).

Donate Tax-Deductible Items to ABI's Amazon Wish List!

Looking for a unique way to give to the Endowment? Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the ABI Endowment Fund! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at amazon.com under a special ABI Wish List. Pick out items now for silent auctions that will be held at upcoming summer conferences (find out more information at abi.org/events), and be sure to place your own bids at those conferences.

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Kelly Beaudin Conlan
Alvarez & Marsal

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – GCG
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street (US) LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2018 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314