JULY 2018 VOL. 5, NO. 7
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Just Announced: Endowment Event in Dallas!

Gray Reed & McGraw LLP is the premium sponsor and host of “An Evening with Bench and Bar” on Oct. 11 at their Elm Street office in Dallas. This Endowment event features an elegant cocktail reception with special guests Bankruptcy Judges Harlin D. Hale, Stacey G. C. Jernigan and Mark X. Mullin from the Northern District of Texas. Come meet your colleagues in a relaxed environment and discuss a range of topics with these distinguished judges.


$1,000 (includes 2 tickets)

$1,500 (includes 4 tickets)


An Evening with Bench & Bar

Register Today

The Endowment Wine Dinner in L.A. Is Sold Out!

We are looking forward to welcoming a full house on October 3rd at Upstairs 2 for what is sure to be another night of fine wine, delicious food and networking that will benefit the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund.

Thanks goes to the following Sponsors:
Bienert, Miller & Katzman, PLC; Citizens Business Bank; Development Specialists Inc.; Donlin Recano; East West Bank; FTI Consulting, Inc.; Omni Management Group; Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones; Polsinelli, Sierra Constellation Partners; and Smiley Wang-Ekvall.


Western Region Endowment Wine Dinner

Second Annual Golf & Tennis Outing in New Jersey

In conjunction with the Garden State Credit Associates and the New York Institute of Credit, ABI will co-host the Second Annual Golf & Tennis Outing on Sept. 24 at Cedar Hill Country Club in Livingston, N.J. The picturesque course features “twin” par 3s, with the 10th playing straight downhill and the 16th recapturing the Clubhouse level. From the back tees, the course measures 6,447 yards and plays to a slope rated 129. For sponsorship opportunities, contact Sarah Kunhs.


Cedar Hill Country Club

Silent Auction Winners at the Northeast Conference & Consumer forum

Thanks go to the following silent auction winners during the Northeast Conference & Consumer Forum held in July in Stowe, Vt.: Alan L. Braunstein (Riemer & Braunstein LLP; Boston), Andrew C. Helman (Murray Plumb & Murray; Portland, Maine), Charlotte V. Mattei (Webster Bank; North Reading, Mass.), Sheila T. Smith (Gordon Brothers; Brookline, Mass.), Gary M. Weiner (Weiner Law Firm, PC; Springfield, Mass.) and Christopher K. Wu (Teneo Capital; New York).

If you are attending an ABI conference (see the full schedule at abi.org/events), be sure to look out for auction items and place your bid! You can also donate items to be auctioned off; visit abi.org/endowment/ways-to-give for a list of desired auction items.

Participate in the 2018 Combined Federal Campaign

Contributions to the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund are tax-deductible. ABI is a 501(c)‌(3) tax-exempt organization. If you have been considering making a donation to the ABI Endowment Fund, you may benefit by making your contribution to Combined Federal Campaign #11391. Your funds will be used to support research and education on insolvency. Please consider contributing during the current campaign season (the 2018 CFC Open Season will run from Sept. 1 through Dec. 15). Contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan at ksheehan@abi.org or (703) 739-0800 for more information.

Mid-Atlantic Endowment Dinner in Philly

Mark your calendar for Wednesday, Nov. 28, when the ABI Endowment will be hosting a networking dinner at La Famiglia Ristorante, a culinary institutuion in Center City Philadelphia. Watch the ABI website and future Developments Newsletters for more details. If your firm would like to sponsor this or any other Endowment-related events, please contact ABI Marketing Manager Sharisa L. Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

La Famiglia Ristorante

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

New Leadership Club Members
Michael E. Foreman photo
Michael E. Foreman
Foreman Law PLLC

William H. Henrich photo
William H. Henrich
Getzler Henrich & Associates LLC

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – GCG
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street (US) LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2018 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314