JANUARY 2018 VOL. 5, NO. 1
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Two Events to Aid Puerto Rico

Please join ABI and the Caribbean Insolvency Symposium on February 1, 2018,  for a cocktail reception in Miami in our efforts to support an already struggling Puerto Rico in its recovery. As you may have surmised, the 2018 Caribbean Insolvency Symposium had to be cancelled due to the widespread destruction that Hurricanes Irma and Maria wreaked upon the island. We could not stand by and watch our many friends and colleagues go through these trying times without supporting them. We are working with The Puerto Rico Recovery Fund and will be sending ALL proceeds from this cocktail reception to aid in recovery efforts. CLE credit is available.

Then on April 4, 2018, the ABI Endowment Fund will team up with The Mariano Rivera Foundation to raise much-needed funds to benefit Hurricane Maria victims in Puerto Rico. This event, to be held in Manhattan during the first week of baseball season, is more than a great opportunity to network with your colleagues over appetizers and an open bar. You will get to meet legendary New York Yankees pitcher Mariano Rivera, while the insolvency community gives back to the territory that has occupied so much of the bankruptcy news for the past few years.


register today

Sponsored by: FTI Consulting, Inc.; Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, PA; Genovese Joblove & Battista, PA; Broad and Cassel; McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC; Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.; and GCG.



register today

Premium Sponsor: Rust Omni.
Gold Sponsors: Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP; EisnerAmper LLP; McGuireWoods LLP; and Richards, Layton & Finger, PA.
Silver Sponsor: GCG.


ABI Endowment Hockey Event in Philly!

Five-time Stanley Cup Champions, the Pittsburgh Penguins were victorious over the hometown Philadelphia Flyers on January 2. Thanks to Gavin/Solmonese LLC for donating the suite and to McGuireWoods LLP, Morris James, Polsinelli and Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP for sponsoring this event. 


Flyers vs. Penguins


Judges Diehl and Mullins Honored in Atlanta

Retiring Bankruptcy Judges Mary Grace Diehl and C. Ray Mullins were honored with a special tribute at the Atlanta offices of King & Spalding on January 11.

Atlanta Tribute


Thanks go to the sponsors for their support. Gold Level: Adams and Reese LLP; Alston & Bird LLP; Arnall Golden Gregory LLP; Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP; Burr Forman LLP; Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP; King & Spalding LLP; Parker, Hudson, Rainer & Dobbs LLP; and Troutman Sanders LLP. Silver Level: Barron Business Consulting, Inc.; Caiola & Rose LLC; GCG; McCalla Raymer Liebert Pierce, LLC; Morris, Manning & Martin, LLP; Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC; Scroggins & Williamson PC; Steinfeld & Steinfeld, P.C.; and Stokes Carmichael & Ernst LLP.


New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

New Lifetime Member
Steven M. Berman photo
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

New Benefactor
Paul R. Hage photo
Paul R. Hage
Jaffe Raitt Heuer & Weiss

Residual Award Notice

Liquidating trusts commonly receive nominal payments (such as tax rebates or returned utility deposits), where distribution would either require a wasteful administrative expense, or violate a de minimis payment provision in a reorganization plan. The Bankruptcy Code currently provides no direct answer on how to dispose of surplus funds (also referred to as “remnant funds”) in such circumstances. As liquidating chapter 11 plans become increasingly common, it will become more important for plans to specify how remnant funds should be distributed. Surplus assets can be donated to ABI’s Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund, a 501(c)(3) charity. The Endowment has prepared model plan language.

Thank you to Thomas A. Pitta (Emmet, Marvin & Martin, LLP; New York, NY) and Sharon L. Levine (Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP; Newark, NJ) for designating the ABI Endowment Fund in the In re Consolidated Aluminum Corporation case.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
John W. Ames – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – GCG
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc..
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2018 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314