DECEMBER 2018 VOL. 5, NO. 12
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Endowment Wine Dinner in Philly

On Nov. 28, the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund hosted a networking wine dinner at La Famiglia Ristorante in Philadelphia. Cocktails, wine and appetizers were served ahead of the dinner.

Sponsors for this event included BMS; Barnes & Thornburg LLP; EisnerAmper; Gavin/Solmonese; Fox Rothschild LLP; McGuireWoods LLP; Polsinelli; Richards, Layton & Finger, PA; Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP; Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP; SSG Capital Advisors, LLC; Wilmington Trust; Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP and Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP.

big check

table photo

Mark G. Stingley Leadership Award

The Mark G. Stingley Leadership Award recognizes a member who has demonstrated extraordinary support for the Endowment in the preceding year. ABI Vice President-Development Robert P. Reynolds presented the award to this year's recipient, Jerry M. Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.; Miami), at the 2018 Winter Leadership Conference.


Stingley Award

Silent Auction at WLC

ABI thanks the following members for participating in the silent auction during the Winter Leadership Conference in December. The winners included Michael L. Bernstein (Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP; Washington, D.C.), Hon. Hannah L. Blumenstiel (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (N.D. Cal.); San Francisco), Dawn M. Cica (Mushkin - Cica - Coppedge; Las Vegas), Walter H. Curchack (Loeb & Loeb LLP; New York), Matthew T. Faga (Markus Williams & Young LLC; Denver), Mark E. Felger (Cozen O’Connor; (Wilmington, Del.), Robert M. Fishman (Fox Rothschild LLP; Chicago), Douglas M. Foley (McGuireWoods LLP; Washington, D.C.), Bradley S. Friedman (Ares Management; Los Angeles), ABI Executive Director Samuel J. Gerdano, Rita Kostopoulos (Kostopoulos & Associates PLLC; Warren, Mich.), Martha R. Lehman (SmithAmundsen LLC; Indianapolis), Mark Podgainy (Getzler Henrich & Associates LLC; New York) and Lisa Bittle Tancredi (Gebhardt & Smith LLP; Baltimore).

Special thanks also go to those who donated items for the silent auction at the Winter Leadership Conference: Alane A. Becket (Becket & Lee, LLP; Malvern, Pa.), Lisa G. Beckerman (Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP; New York), Tinamarie Feil (BMC Group; New York), Richard S. Lauter (Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP; Chicago), Stephen D. Lerner (Squire Patton Boggs; Cincinnati), Jerry M. Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.; Miami), James A. Peko (Grant Thornton LLP; New York), Claire Ann Resop (Steinhilber Swanson LLP; Madison, Wis.) and Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC; Tuscaloosa, Ala.).

Give by Year’s End to Benefit the Endowment (and You!)

Make a donation to the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund by year’s end to receive a tax benefit. Checks mailed to a charity are considered delivered on the date that you mail them. In addition, you can pay by credit card online at, or call (703) 739-0800 by Dec. 31 for your donation to be considered tax-deductible for 2018. Donors at the Sustaining Member Level ($2,000) and up will be recognized at the ABI Annual Spring Meeting in Washington, D.C., on April April 11-14, 2019 (registration information will be posted soon at The generous support we receive from our members and the insolvency community helps ABI achieve the Endowment’s goal of funding important bankruptcy research and educational activities. Contributions to the ABI Endowment are tax-deductible. ABI is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. For questions about extended payment options, contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan at or (703) 739-0800 for more information.

ABI’s Amazon Wish List

Looking for an easy and unique way to give to the ABI Endowment? Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the Endowment Fund! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special “ABI Wish List.” Pick out items now for silent auctions that will be held at upcoming conferences, and be sure to place your own bids at those conferences.

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Lifetime Member
David P. Leibowitz photo
David P. Leibowitz

Leadership Club
Kathryn A. Coleman photo
Kathryn A. Coleman
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street (US) LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2018 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314