OCTOBER 2017 VOL. 4, NO. 10
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

ABI/NYIC/GSCA Golf Outing & Tennis Tournament Held in September

ABI and the New York Institute of Credit joined forces with the Garden State Credit Associates for the annual golf outing and dinner, held at the Cedar Hill Golf & Country Club in Livingston, N.J. More than 100 players enjoyed perfect weather. Visit flickr.com to view more photos from this event.

Photos courtesy of the
New York Institute of Credit.
ABI Challenge Hole

Foursome putting eating

Get Noticed at ABI’s Winter Leadership Conference!

Members who pledge or contribute at or above the Sustaining Member level ($2,000 and up) will be recognized during ABI’s Winter Leadership Conference. There will also be an Endowment dessert reception sponsored by Berkeley Research Group, LLC, Rust Consulting, Inc. and Shook, Hardy and Bacon LLP. The reception, which follows the final night dinner, is for new donors at the Sustaining Member level and up and will feature a meet-and-greet with magician Drew Thomas.

Magician Drew Thomas
Magician Drew Thomas


dinner and fine Wine in Chicago This November

Get ready for an evening of networking with your colleagues while raising money for the ABI Endowment Fund on Nov. 9 at River Roast in Chicago. A huge thank you goes to Richard S. Lauter of Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP, the late Mark G. Stingley of Bryan Cave LLP and Elizabeth B. Vandesteeg of Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Hammer LLP for spearheading this event, as well as event sponsors Adelman & Gettleman, Ltd.; Alvarez & Marsal Holdings, LLC; Birch Lake; Bryan Cave LLP; Conway Mackenzie, Inc.; Development Specialists, Inc.; FrankGecker, LLP; Freeborn & Peters LLP; Greenberg Traurig, LLP; Hiltz & Zanzig LLC; Jenner & Block LLP; The Law Offices of Roger Higgins, LLC; Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP; MorrisAnderson; Perkins Coie LLP; Proskauer; Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP; Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC; Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Hammer LLP; and UpRight Law LLC. Interested in joining us? Contact ABI Marketing Manager Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

register today

Hockey Fans: Support the ABI Endowment in Philly!

Join us at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia on Jan. 2 at 7 p.m. for a divisional hockey match-up between the hometown Flyers and five-time Stanley Cup Champions Pittsburgh Penguins. Watch the game from a luxury suite generously donated by Gavin/Solmonese LLC, complete with food and open bar. Thanks also go to McGuireWoods LLP, Polsinelli and Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP for sponsoring this event. Act fast; this event is sure to sell out!

Flyers vs. Penguins

register today

Join ABI in Atlanta for a "Tribute to Service"

More details will be announced in a future Developments e-newsletter, but make sure to leave Jan. 11 open on your calendar: ABI will be hosting a special tribute at the Atlanta offices of King & Spalding to honor Hon. Mary Grace Diehl and Hon. C. Ray Mullins of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia, who are both retiring in 2018. Additional information is forthcoming and will be posted at abi.org/events.

Tribute to Service

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

New Leadership Club Members
Gregory W. Werkheiser
Gregory W. Werkheiser
Morris, Nichols, Arsht & Tunnell LLP

A. Jeffrey Zappone
A. Jeffrey Zappone
Conway MacKenzie

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

Participate in the 2017 Combined Federal Campaign

Contributions to the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund are tax-deductible. ABI is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. If you have been considering making a donation to the Endowment Fund, you may benefit by making your contribution to Combined Federal Campaign #11391. Your funds will be used to support research and education on insolvency. Please consider contributing during the current campaign season (The 2017 CFC Open Season will run from October 2, 2017, through January 12, 2018.) Contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan at (703) 739-0800 or ksheehan@abi.org for more information.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
John W. Ames – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – GCG
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc..
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2017 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Unsubscribe