MAY 2017 VOL. 4, NO. 5
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund
A Few Words from ABI's New Vice President–Development, Robert Reynolds
Last month Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little LLC), was named to a two-year term as ABI Vice President-Development. We caught up with this longtime ABI member (and member of the ABI Board of Directors) at the Annual Spring Meeting. In this short video clip, he reflects upon the important role the Endowment Fund plays at ABI.
Robert Reynolds video

Yoder Memorial Golf Outing Held in Pennsylvania

On May 15, the Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale, Pa., hosted the 7th Annual Steven M. Yoder Memorial Golf Outing. ABI members celebrated the life of ABI member Steven M. Yoder, who passed away in 2011. Proceeds benefitted the Steven M. Yoder Children’s Trust and the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Thanks go to Gavin/Solmonese LLC (Amy and Ted Gavin), Morris James LLP, Polsinelli (Christopher A. Ward), Rust Omni (Brian Osbourne and Paul Deutch), Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP (Ryan G. Foley) and Wilmington Trust for sponsoring this event.

Yoder Hole #9

Auction winners included Justin R. Alberto (Bayard, P.A.; Wilmington, Del.), Dan J. Courtney (Avondale, Pa.), Ryan G. Foley (Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP; Philadelphia), Samuel J. Gerdano (ABI; Alexandria, Va.), Samuel T. Herzel (Wilmington, Del.), Jeremy Luzader (DLS Discovery; Wilmington, Del.), Kevin Moore (Leisawitz Heller; Reading, Pa.), Larry Taylor (Reliable; Wilmington, Del.) and Christopher A. Ward (Polsinelli; Wilmington, Del.).

Yoder Golf Parties

Registration Open for Southwest Tequila Tasting

On Thursday, Sept. 7, there will be a special Tequila Tasting held in conjunction with ABI’s Southwest Bankruptcy Conference in San Diego. Festivities will take place at the Coronado Yacht Club—near the Hotel Del Coronado which is the site of the conference—and will feature food, drinks (tequila and others) and music by the Indubitable Equivalents. Proceeds will benefit the Endowment Fund. Thanks go to Steve Berman for his help in organizing this event, and to Steve's firm, Schumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP, for their sponsorship. Firms interested in sponsoring should contact ABI Marketing Manager Sharisa Sloan at

SW Endowment graphic

register today

Tequilla graphic

Fundraise and Drink Wine in Chicago This November

Get ready for an evening of networking with your colleagues while honoring our new ABI President Gene Wedoff on Nov. 9 in Chicago! A huge thank you goes to Richard S. Lauter (Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP), Mark G. Stingley (Bryan Cave LLP) and Elizabeth B. Vandesteeg (Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Hammer LLP) for spearheading this event. Interested in sponsoring this event? Contact ABI Marketing Manager Sharisa Sloan at or visit for more information.

River Roast Wine Dinner

register today

Bryan Cave LLP and Freeborn & Peters LLP.

Donate to the Endowment in Memory of Chip Bowles

Chip Bowles

The Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop Advisory Board, which has distinguished itself in the past by its strong 100 percent participation in support of the Endowment Fund, is launching a campaign in memory of Chip Bowles in gratitude for his contributions to ABI and the ABI Endowment. Visit for more information. 

Levels of Support

Millennial Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversay Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to donate

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC


Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Prime Clerk
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Olofson Technology Partners
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2017 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314