JANUARY 2017 VOL. 4, NO. 1
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund
Endowment Wine Event in the Big Apple
Wine Enthusiast Endowment Dinner in NYC

Wednesday, April 5

Join us for a special event from 6:30-9:30 p.m. at Italian Wine Merchants in New York City (108 East 16th Street between Park Avenue South & Irving Place) for appetizers, cocktails & wine (6:30-7:00 p.m.) and a seated dinner (7:00-9:30 p.m.). Proceeds from the event will benefit the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund.

Thanks go to Rust Omni (premium sponsor), Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP (major sponsor), Eisner Amper LLP (major sponsor) and SSG Capital Advisors, LLC (sponsor) for making this event happen. Further sponsorship inquiries should be directed to Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org. This event is sure to sell out, so don’t delay!

register today

Winter Leadership Conference Auction

Special thanks go to the following members who won items at the silent auction at ABI’s Winter Leadership Conference in December: ABI Director Michael L. Bernstein of Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP, Ronald L. Cohen of Seward & Kissel LLP, Melissa Davis of KapilaMukamal, LLP, ABI Director Hon. Michael A. Fagone of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Maine, Ryan G. Foley of Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP, ABI Vice President-Development Edward T. Gavin of Gavin/Solmonese LLC, ABI Executive Director Samuel J. Gerdano, Donna T. Parkinson of Parkinson Phinney, Jeffrey T. Sutton of Friedman, LLP, ABI Director Christopher A. Ward of Polsinelli and Rafael X. Zahralddin-Aravena of Elliott Greenleaf. We also thank ABI Director Robert P. Reynolds of Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC for his auction donation.

Endowment Hockey Event

Hockey enthusiasts gathered in support of the Endowment at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadephia to watch the Flyers battle the visiting Washington Capitals on Dec. 21. It was a fun night of networking in the suite, which was generously donated by Gavin/Solmonese LLC and featured food and an open bar. ABI also thanks McGuireWoods LLP, Polsinelli and Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP for their sponsorship of this event. 

Photo from Hockey Event

7th Annual Steven M. yoder Memorial Golf Tournament

On Monday, May 15, 2017, The Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale, Pa., will host the 7th Annual Steven M. Yoder Memorial Golf Outing. Join us as we celebrate the life of our friend and ABI member, Steve Yoder, who passed away in 2011. Included in the cost: golf, boxed lunch, complimentary beverages and beer, with a cocktail hour and buffet dinner to follow. Proceeds of the golf outing benefit the Steven M. Yoder Children's Trust and the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Anyone interested in sponsoring this popular event should contact Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org. To register or learn more about this event, click here.

What the Fund Pays for

Prof. Andrew B. Dawson of the University of Miami School of Law (Miami) will serve as the Robert M. Zinman ABI Resident Scholar for the spring 2017 semester. Prof. Dawson teaches contracts, commercial law, secured transactions, bankruptcy and advanced topics in bankruptcy. His research has focused on the intersection of federal bankruptcy and labor laws, both in the corporate and municipal bankruptcy contexts. In addition to his scholarship in this field, Prof. Dawson has served as the reporter for the Labor and Benefits Subcommittee of ABI’s Commission to Study the Reform of Chapter 11. He will be based in ABI's Alexandria, Va., office, assisting ABI with its educational programming and in its role as the authoritative source of bankruptcy information for Congress, the media and the public. He is also a panelist at the ABI Annual Spring Meeting.

Photo of Andrew Dawson

Newest Donor roll

ABI thanks the latest donors who have joined a special group dedicated to advancing research of interest to the bankruptcy community.

New Visionary Member ($20K)
Robert J. Feinstein and Bradford J. Sandler
Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones LLP

New Legacy Members ($15K)
Soneet R. Kapila
KapilaMukamal, LLP

New Benefactor ($5K)
Elizabeth A. Green

New Sustaining Members ($2K)
Thomas Michael Horan
Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC

Ericka F. Johnson
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP

James E. Van Horn
McGuireWoods LLP

New Leadership Club ($1K)
Hon. John E. Waites
U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Edward T. Gavin
Gavin/Solmonese LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Mitch Ryan
Donlin, Recano & Co., Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Chip Bowles – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP


Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Prime Clerk
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Garden City Group, LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2017 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Unsubscribe