FEBRUARY 2017 VOL. 4, NO. 2
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund
Caribbean Insovency Workshop Advisory Board: Thanks for a Second Year of 100% Participation in Endowment Fund Giving!
CIS17 Advisory Board

The Caribbean Insolvency Workshop Advisory Board again achieved 100 percent participation in giving to the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. The campaign was spearheaded by Mariaelena Gayo-Guitian (Genovese Joblove & Battista, PA; Miami, FL) and Jerry M. Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.; Miami, FL). Jerry Markowitz is a Visionary Level Member ($20,000-24,999). ABI thanks all the members of the advisory board for their generous support and stellar example.

Joaquin J. Alemany (Holland & Knight LLP; Miami), Leyza F. Blanco (GrayRobinson, P.A.; Miami), C. R. “Chip” Bowles (Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP; Louisville, Ky.), Katherine R. Catanese (Foley & Lardner LLP; New York), Rudy J. Cerone, Co-Chair (McGlinchey Stafford PLLC; New Orleans), Sonia Colon (Ferraiuoli LLC; Orlando, Fla.), Carmen D. Conde Torres (C. Conde & Associates; San Juan), Melissa Davis (KapilaMukamal, LLP; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Prof. Andrew B. Dawson (University of Miami School of Law; Miami), James Fox (GlassRatner Advisory & Capital Group LLC; New York), Mariaelena Gayo-Guitian, Co-Chair (Genovese Joblove & Battista, P.A.; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Gregory S. Grossman (Astigarraga Davis Mullins & Grossman, PA; Miami), Laura Hatfield (Solomon Harris; George Town, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands), Rebecca Hume (Kobre & Kim LLP; Cayman Islands), Hon. Laurel Myerson Isicoff (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (S.D. Fla.); Miami), Kenneth M. Krys (KRyS Global; George Town, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands), Hon. Enrique S. Lamoutte (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (D. P.R.); San Juan), Edguardo Mangual-Gonzalez (EMG Dispacho Legal; San Juan), Isaac M. Marcushamer (Berger Singerman LLP; Miami), Hon. Robert A. Mark, Judicial Chair (Miami) (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (S.D. Fla.); Miami), Jerry M. Markowitz (Markowitz Ringel Trusty + Hartog, P.A.; Miami), Jennifer M. Meyerowitz (GCG), Francis C. Morrissey (Morrissey, Wilson & Zafiropoulos, LLP; Boston), Charles A. Postler (Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, P.A.; Tampa, Fla.), Patricia A. Redmond (Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A.; Miami), Zachary H. Smith (Moore & Van Allen PLLC; Charlotte, NC), Hon. Brian K. Tester, Judicial Chair (Caribbean) (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (D. P.R.); San Juan) and Wayne P. Weitz (EisnerAmper LLP; New York).

 Endowment WINE Dinner in New york City

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Join us for a special event on Wednesday, April 5th, from 6:30-9:30 p.m. at Italian Wine Merchants in New York City (108 East 16th Street between Park Avenue South & Irving Place) for appetizers, cocktails & wine (6:30-7:00 p.m.) followed by a seated dinner (7:00-9:30 p.m.). Proceeds from the event will benefit the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Sponsorship inquiries should be directed to Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

register today

Premium Sponsor: Rust Omni. Major Sponsors: Akin Gump and Eisner Amper. Sponsors: Arent Fox, East West Bank, Polsinelli, Shook Hardy & Bacon and SSG Capital Advisors, LLC.

7th Annual Steven M. Yoder Memorial Golf Tournament

Yoder Golf Tournament

On Monday, May 15, 2017, The Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale, Pa., will host the 7th Annual Steven M. Yoder Memorial Golf Outing. Join us as we celebrate the life of our friend and ABI member, Steve Yoder, who passed away in 2011. Included: golf greens fee, boxed lunch, complimentary beverages and beer, with a cocktail hour, buffet dinner and silent auction to follow. Proceeds of the golf outing benefit the Steven M. Yoder Children's Trust and the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Anyone interested in sponsoring this popular event should contact Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

register today

Sponsors: Gavin/Solmonese, Polsinelli, Rust Omni, Shook Hardy & Bacon and Wilmington Trust.

Annual Spring Meeting Endowment Reception

ASM/Don Felder

New donors who pledge or contribute at the Sustaining Member Level and above ($2,000 and up) will be recognized during the luncheon and invited to an reception immediately following the Final Night Dinner with an exclusive "meet & greet" with the legendary former lead guitarist of the Eagles, Don Felder.

Sponsors: Perkins Coie, Rust Omni and Shook Hardy & Bacon.

Levels of Support

Millennial Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversay Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Edward T. Gavin
Gavin/Solmonese LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Mitch Ryan
Donlin, Recano & Co., Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Chip Bowles – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP


Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Prime Clerk
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Garden City Group, LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2017 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Unsubscribe