DECEMBER 2017 VOL. 4, NO. 12
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

ABI Endowment at the Winter Leadership Conference

ABI Vice President-Development Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC) presented awards to Endowment donors at Friday's dinner. Donald A. Workman (BakerHostetler) and Soneet R. Kapila (KapilaMukamal, LLP) were honored for reaching the the Visionary level of support, while David W. Houston IV (Burr & Forman LLP) was recognized for becoming a Sustaining Member. Mitchell Ryan (Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.) was the recipient of the inaugural Mark G. Stingley Award for extraordinary service.

Endowment Awardees
Stingley Award

A big thank you goes out to all the participants of the auction at the Winter Leadership Conference. Auction Donors: Lisa G. Beckerman (Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP), Charles M. Forman (Forman Holt), Kristina M. Johnson (Jones Walker LLP), Jerry M. Markowitz (Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.), Patricia A. Redmond (Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A.) and Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC). Auction Winners: Zac Dalton (Ritchie Bros.), Hon. Michael Fagone (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Bangor, Maine), Miriam Goott (Walker & Patterson, PC), Monique Hayes (Goldstein & McClintock LLP), Mary Jo Heston (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Tacoma, Wash.), David R. Kuney (Whiteford Taylor Preston LLP), Jerry M. Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.), Jake Miller (Oak Point Partners), Victor Owens (East West Bank), Martin Pichinson (Sherwood Partners, Inc.), Jeffrey M. Reisner (Irell & Manella LLP), Brian L. Shaw (Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC), Roy M. Terry (Sands Anderson Marks & Miller, PC), Hon. Deborah L. Thorne (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Chicago), Nancy J. Whaley (Standing Chapter 13 Trustee, Atlanta), Rory D. Whelehan (Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP), Andrea Wimmer (Schian Walker P.L.C.) and Constance L. Young (Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP).

Hockey Fans: Support the ABI Endowment in Philly!

Join us at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia on Jan. 2 at 7 p.m. for a hockey match-up between the hometown Flyers and five-time Stanley Cup Champions Pittsburgh Penguins. Watch the game from a luxury suite generously donated by Gavin/Solmonese LLC, complete with food and open bar. Thanks also go to McGuireWoods LLP, Morris James, Polsinelli and Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP for sponsoring this event. Act fast; this event is sure to sell out!

Flyers vs. Penguins

register today

An Evening to Honor Judges Diehl and Mullins

ABI will be hosting a special tribute at the Atlanta offices of King & Spalding on Jan. 11 (6:00-8:00 p.m.) to honor Bankruptcy Judges Mary Grace Diehl and C. Ray Mullins of the Northern District of Georgia, who are both retiring in 2018. The evening will begin with a discussion with the judges, and a reception with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres will follow.

Thanks go to the Gold & Silver Level Sponsors for their Support. Gold Level: Adams and Reese LLP, Arnall Golden Gregory LLP and Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP. Silver Level: Barron Business Consulting, Inc., Caiola & Rose LLC, Garden City Group, LLC, McCalla Raymer Liebert Pierce, LLC, Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC, Scroggins & Williamson PC and Steinfeld & Steinfeld, P.C. Those interested in sponsoring this event should contact Amy Quackenboss at

Tribute to Service
register today

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

New Century Council Members
Soneet R. Kapila
Soneet R. Kapila
KapilaMukamal, LLP

Our second New Century Council Member wishes to remain anonymous.

Participate in the Next Combined Federal Campaign

Contributions to the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund are tax-deductible. ABI is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. If you have been considering making a donation to the Endowment Fund, you may benefit by making your contribution to Combined Federal Campaign #11391. Your funds will be used to support research and education on insolvency. Please consider contributing during the current campaign season. (The 2017 CFC Open Season runs until January 12, 2018.) Contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan at (703) 739-0800 or for more information.

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC


Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
John W. Ames – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – GCG
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc..
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2017 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314