APRIL 2017 VOL. 4, NO. 4
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund
Annual Spring Meeting Honors Donors
NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Patricia A. Redmond (Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A.) received the annual Anthony H.N. Schnelling Leadership Award from outgoing Vice President-Development Ted Gavin.

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC) (l) received a Millennium Level award from outgoing Vice President-Development Ted Gavin. As incoming Vice President-Development, he presented the remaining Endowment awards.

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Jerry M. Markowitz
(Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.) (Visionary)

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Daniel F. Dooley

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Richard S. Lauter
(Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP) (Legacy)

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Ira L. Herman
(received on behalf of Blank Rome LLP) (Lifetime)

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Hon. Martin R. Barash
(C.D. Cal.) (Benfactor)

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Hon. Mary Grace Diehl
(N.D. Ga.) (Benefactor)

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Teresa C. Kohl
(SSG Capital Advisors, LLC) (Benefactor)

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

Thomas M. Horan (Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC) & Paul H. Deutch (Rust Omni)(Sustaining Members)


Endowment Reception at ASM Final night Dinner

Felder & Co.

Guitar legend Don Felder transformed Washington's Marriott Marquis into The Hotel California at the ASM Final Night Dinner. Endowment contributors enjoyed the private "meet and greet" that followed the concert. Thanks go to Dinner Sponsor Gray Reed & McGraw LLP and Enertainment Sponsors BakerHostetler, Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Bryan Cave LLP, Gavin/Solmonese LLC, Miles & Stockbridge PC, Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones LLP, Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC, Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick LLP and Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP for making this a night to remember.

Endowment Wine Dinner in New York City

NYC Wine Endowment Dinner

A good time was had by all at Italian Wine Merchants in New York City on April 5. Thanks go to sponsors Rust Omni, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP, Eisner Amper, Arent Fox LLP, East West Bank, Getzler Henrich & Associates LLC, Polsinelli and SSG Capital Advisors, LLC for making this event a success. We would also like to thank those who donated bottles for the raffle: Paul Deutch, Maria & Gerry DiConza, Amy & Ted Gavin, William Henrich, Lorenzo Marinuzzi, Kat McLean & Victor Owens, Janie & Steve Mitnick, Brian Soper, Scott Stuart and Christopher Ward.

NYC Wine Dinner

NYC Wine Dinner

ASM Auction Winners

The ABI Endowment held another successful silent auction at this year’s Annual Spring Meeting. Many thanks go to the generous donors. Congratulations — and thanks! — to our many winning bidders: Bernadette M. Barron (Barron Business Consulting), Donald R. Calaiaro (Calaiaro Valencik), Rebecca R. DeMarb (Sweet DeMarb LLC), Ken Edstrom (Sapientia Law Group, PLLP), Ford Elsaessar (Elsaesser Jarzabek Anderson Elliott & Macdonald, Chtd.),

Michael J. Epstein (Deloitte CRG), Bruce Goldstein (MorrisAnderson), Martha Lehman (SmithAmundsen LLC), Jerry M. Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.), Katrina McLean (East West Bank) and Donna T. Parkinson (Parkinson Phinney).

Hats off to Marc Trottier (Berwin Leighton Paisner LLP), our winning bidder for the Capitals vs. Maple Leafs Stanley Cup Playoff tickets.

Upcoming Events

Yoder Golf Tournament

On Monday, May 15, 2017, The Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale, Pa., will host the 7th Annual Steven M. Yoder Memorial Golf Outing. Join us as we celebrate the life of our friend and ABI member, Steve Yoder, who passed away in 2011. Included: golf green fee, boxed lunch, complimentary beverages and beer, with a cocktail hour, buffet dinner and silent auction to follow.

Proceeds from this event benefit the Steven M. Yoder Children's Trust and the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Anyone interested in becoming a sponsor should contact Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

register today

Sponsors: Conway MacKenzie, Gavin/Solmonese LLC, Morris James LLP, Polsinelli, Rust Omni, Shook Hardy & Bacon LLP and Wilmington Trust.

River Roast Wine Dinner

Get ready for an evening of fine dining and networking with your colleagues while honoring our new ABI President Gene Wedoff from Chicago. The festivities are taking place Nov. 9 at River Roast (315 N. LaSalle Dr.). A huge thank you goes to Richard S. Lauter (Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP), Mark G. Stingley (Bryan Cave LLP) and Elizabeth B. Vandesteeg (Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Hammer LLP) for spearheading this event. Proceeds will benefit the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Sponsorship inquiries should be directed to Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

register today

Sponsors: Bryan Cave and Freeborn & Peters

Save the Date for Southwest Tequila Tasting

On Thursday, September 7, there will be a special Tequila Tasting, to be held in conjunction with ABI's Southwest Bankruptcy Conference in Coronado, with proceeds benefiting the Endowment Fund. Details will follow in the May Developments newsletter, but firms interested in sponsoring should contact Sharisa Sloan at ssloan@abi.org.

Tequilla graphic

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP
James E. Van Horn – McGuireWoods LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP


Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Prime Clerk
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Garden City Group, LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2017 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •