SEPTEMBER 2016 VOL. 3, NO. 9
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund
ABI Members — Getting Together to Network and Raise Funds for Research, Grants and Scholarships
An Evening at the Grove
Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2016
Join us as we present a conversation with Chief Bankruptcy Judge David R. Jones and Bankruptcy Judge Marvin Isgur (U.S. Bankruptcy Court — S.D. Tex.) at 6:00 pm, followed by a networking reception to benefit the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund beginning at 7:00 pm.
Houston Endowment Event

The Grove
1611 Lamar St., Houston, TX

register today
Western Region Endowment Wine Dinner
Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2016
ABI is again joining forces with Upstairs 2 at Los Angeles’s premier wine purveyor — the Wine House.  The Chef de Cuisine will custom-design a multi-course wine pairing dinner to bring you an unparalleled dining experience.

2311 Cotner Ave., Los Angeles, CA

register today
Baltimore ABI Endowment Event
Thursday, Nov. 17, 2016
Come enjoy an evening of networking, delicious food and wine while supporting the Endowment Fund! ABI has reserved a private area at Wit & Wisdom where you will enjoy a beautiful view of the Baltimore Harbor. All proceeds will benefit the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund.
Baltimore Endowment Event

Wit & Wisdom
200 International Dr., Baltimore, MD

register today
Endowment Hockey Event
Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2016
Please join the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia on December 21, 2016, for a night of great hockey and fun networking in a luxury suite generously donated by Gavin/Solmonese, complete with food and open bar.  This event is sure to be a sell‑out!
Baltimore Endowment Event

Washington Capitals vs.
Philadelphia Flyers  

register today

Your Donations at work: Annual LL.M. in Bankruptcy Scholarship

The American Bankruptcy Institute Endowment Fund awards a $15,000 annual scholarship to a student from St. John’s University School of Law’s LL.M. in Bankruptcy program. The scholarship is awarded based on the student’s credentials, demonstrated interest in bankruptcy law and potential for success in the field. The Endowment has awarded $200,000 since the Fall of 2000. The first recipient of the LL.M. Scholarship was Douglas E. Deutsch. He is now a partner at Clifford Chance LLP in New York and serves as ABI VP - Education.

11th Annual Golf Outing

The 11th Annual Golf and Tennis Outing, jointly hosted by the New York Institute of Credit and the Northeast Chapter of the International Factoring Association, was held Sept. 12 at the Montammy Country Club in Alpine, N.J. Some 70 golfers participated in the shotgun golf tournament and tennis tournament, which was followed by cocktails, dinner and awards.

11th Annual Golf Outing

Participate in the 2016 Combined Federal Campaign

Contributions to the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund are tax-deductible. ABI is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. If you have been considering making a donation to the Endowment Fund, you may benefit by making your contribution to Combined Federal Campaign #11391. Your funds will be used to support research and education on 
insolvency. Please consider contributing during the current campaign season (Sept. 1-Dec. 15). Contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan at (703) 739-0800 or for more information.

New Donor roll

ABI thanks the latest donor who joins a special group dedicated to advancing research of interest to the bankruptcy community.

New Leadership Club 
Charles L. Denaburg
Najjar Denaburg, PC

Levels of Support

Millennial Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversay Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Edward T. Gavin
Gavin/Solmonese LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Mitch Ryan
Donlin, Recano & Co., Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A, Ward

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Charles Forman – LeClairRyan, PC
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin, LLC
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Chip Bowles – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP

Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Prime Clerk
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Olofson Technology Partners
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research Group, LLC
Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2016 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314