Can’t see this email? View it online
Endowment Newsletter
May 2016
Vol. 3, No. 5
The ABI Endowment: “A Financially Wise Investment and Good Philanthropy”

Endowment Awards

In his own version of a “Ted Talk,” Vice President–Development Ted Gavin (Gavin/Solmonese) explains the reasons why he became so involved with the ABI Endowment, and why support for the Endowment is so vital to the bankruptcy and insolvency profession.



Yoder golf event

Enjoying the Steven M. Yoder Memorial Golf Tournament (above, left to right) are, from DLS Discovery, Ed Carp, Reese Hitchens, Jeremy Luzader and Andy McClary.

Yoder Golf Event Scores Another Huge Win for Charity and Endowment

The ABI Endowment paired up with the Steven M. Yoder Children’s Trust on May 2 to host a golf tournament at the Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale, Pa. Miraculously, though rain dampened much of the East Coast that day, skies stayed blue and dry for a great day of golf and comraderie. Special thanks for their Silent Auction donations go out to: Justin R. Alberto, Bayard, P.A. (Wilmington, DE); Ed Carp, DLS Discovery (Wilmington, DE); Dan J. Courtney, (Chicago, IL); Justin K. Edleson, Polsinelli (Wilmington, DE); Edward T. Gavin, Gavin/Solmonese LLC (Wilmington, DE); Peter Ladig, Morris James LLP (Wilmington, DE); Margaret M. Manning, Gavin/Solmonese LLC (Wilmington, DE); Stephen Novielli; Mitchell Ryan, Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc. (Orange, CA); Frank Michael Sorochen (West Grove, PA); and Christopher A. Ward, Polsinelli (Wilmington, DE).

Yoder golf event

Shown above (left to right) are Chris Ward (Polsinelli) with his stepson Dan Scott, Paul Deutch (Rust Omni) and Michael Wyse (Wyse Advisors, LLC).

Yoder golf event

The long-hitters gather: Pictured (left to right) are Travis Vandell (UpShot Services), Jared Green (Seitz Van Ogtrop & Green), Ty Workman (DLS Claims Administration) and Chris Coggins (Polsinelli).

Endowment News

Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the Endowment! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special ABI Wish List. Donated auction items are 100 percent tax deductible. The next silent auction will be held in conjunction with the Central States Bankruptcy Workshop (June 16-19, Grand Geneva Resort, WI).

You can also donate the use of a company suite at a sporting event to the Endowment Fund. For instance, now that the Stanley Cup playoffs are in full swing, if your company has a hockey arena suite in Chicago Washington New York Los Angeles Pittsburgh or St. Louis, you could host an Endowment event at a game. If you’re considering making such a donation, please contact ABI! You donate; we’ll arrange everything else! It’s a great way to create a networking event in your city while giving to a great cause.

New Donor Roll

ABI thanks these latest donors, whose names are among a special group dedicated to advancing research of interest to the bankruptcy community.

Leadership Club

Michael J. Hanlon
McMillan LLP

John B. Hutton
Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Levels of Support

Millennial Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversay Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up
are payable over up to five years. For more information about the Endowment Fund or to make a donation, click the button below or contact Kathy Sheehan at (703) 739-0800, or


Endowment Fund
Board Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Edward T. Gavin
Gavin/Solmonese LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Mitch Ryan
Donlin, Recano & Co., Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A. Ward

Endowment Fund
Regional Endowment Chairs

Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Charles Forman – Forman Holt Eliades
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Womble Carlyle
Sandridge & Rice, LLP

Warren Martin – Porzio
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber,
Swanson & Resop

Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour
and Pease LLP

Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard &
Smith LLP

James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Chip Bowles – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Rumberger, Kirk & Caldwell, P.A.
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley &
Scarborough, LLP

Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Olofson Technology Partners
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele &
Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed &
McGraw, PC

Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research
Group, LLC

Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour
and Pease LLP

Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano &
Company, Inc.

Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP

Donate Now   Contributors   Donate Unclaimed
Liquidation Funds
  Forward Email to a friend
© 2016 American Bankruptcy Institute, All Rights Reserved.
email facebook twitter linkedin vimeo