Can’t see this email? View it online
Endowment Newsletter
June 2016
Vol. 3, No. 6
Bankruptcy Remnants Are Found Money for the ABI Endowment Fund

Since August 2014, ABI has produced the Anthony H.N. Schnelling digital newsletter, which highlights new donors, Endowment Events and the many good works that the Endowment Fund supports. Last month marked the launch of a new video segment within the newsletter.

David LinnIn the first segment, in his own version of a “Ted Talk,” Vice President–Development Ted Gavin (Gavin/Solmonese) explained the reasons why he became so involved with the ABI Endowment, and why support for the Endowment is so vital to the bankruptcy and insolvency profession. In this month’s segment, at right, David Linn of Oak Point Partners, Inc. highlights an important way to support the Endowment fund — with remnant assets from bankruptcy cases.

You can access past editions of Developments at

Endowment News

Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the Endowment! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special ABI Wish List. Donated auction items are 100 percent tax deductible, and the donor and their firm’s name are displayed prominently at each silent auction table for the duration of the auction. The next silent auction will be held in conjunction with the Central States Bankruptcy Workshop (June 16-19, Grand Geneva Resort, Lake Geneva, WI). ABI extends its thanks to the following for their generous donations to the Central States Silent Auction: Bernadette M. Barron (Barron Business Consulting), Dale & Gensburg, P.C., Terry Hall (Faegre Baker Daniels), Richard S. Lauter (Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP), Mark L. Radtke (Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC, and Elizabeth B. Vandesteeg (Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Hammer LLP).

Other upcoming Silent Auction opportunities include the Northeast Bankruptcy Conference (July 14-17, Omni Mt. Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH), the Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop (July 21-24, The Ritz-Carlton Amelia Island, Amelia Island, Fla.), and the Mid-Atlantic Bankruptcy Workshop (August 4-6, Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay, Cambridge, Md.).

New Donor Roll

ABI thanks the latest donor who joins a special group dedicated to advancing research of interest to the bankruptcy community.

Sustaining Member

Joe A. Joseph
Burr & Forman LLP

Levels of Support

Millennial Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversay Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Members
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up
are payable over up to five years.




ABI Endowment logo

Endowment Fund
Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Edward T. Gavin
Gavin/Solmonese LLC

Committee Members:
Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Mitch Ryan
Donlin, Recano & Co., Inc.

Kelly Beaudin Stapleton
Alvarez & Marsal

Christopher A, Ward

Endowment Fund
Regional Endowment Chairs

Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Charles Forman – Forman Holt Eliades
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Shaw Fishman
Glantz & Towbin LLC

Warren Martin – Porzio
Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber, Swanson, Resop & Sipsma
Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour
and Pease LLP

Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard &
Smith LLP

James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – Esquify, Inc.
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – CBIZ MHM, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey &
Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Little, LLC

Lawrence R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Chip Bowles – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Jennifer B. Kimble – Rumberger, Kirk & Caldwell, P.A.
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley &
Scarborough, LLP

Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Olofson Technology Partners
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Prosser, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele &
Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed &
McGraw, PC

Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research
Group, LLC

Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour
and Pease LLP

Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano &
Company, Inc.

Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan LLP

Donate Now   Contributors   Donate Unclaimed
Liquidation Funds
  Forward Email to a friend
© 2016 American Bankruptcy Institute, All Rights Reserved.
email facebook twitter linkedin vimeo