About the Institute

ANSER Institute for Homeland Security website

The ANSER Institute for Homeland Security is a nonprofit public-service research organization examining a new set of national security challenges. Initiated and funded by ANSER's Board of Trustees in October 1999 and formally established in April 2001, the Institute believes that preparing for these new challenges will require a determined, integrated effort at every stage of the process: deterrence, prevention, preemption, crisis management, consequence management, attribution and response.

The ANSER Institute for Homeland Security is leading the debate through executive-level education, public awareness programs, workshops for policy makers and online publications: a weekly newsletter (with 13,000 subscribers) and the Journal of Homeland Security, which features articles by senior government leaders and leading homeland security experts.

Key Institute Personnel

Dr. Ruth David, Ph.D.
President & CEO (ANSER)
[view biography]

Col. Randy Larsen (USAF, Ret.)
Director - ANSER Institute
[view biography]

Peter Roman, PhD.
Senior Fellow
Former Chair, Political Science Department - Duquesne Univ.
[view biography]

Col. Dave McIntyre, PhD.
(USA, Ret.)
Deputy Director
Former Dean, National War College
[view biography]

Alan Capps
Journal of Homeland Security
John Wohlfarth
Research Analyst / Editor-in-Chief
Homeland Security Newsletter

Sonita Almas
Operations Manager

Steve Dunham

NOTE: Please direct all comments for Institute staff to the following email address: homelandsecurity@anser.org

ANSER Institute for Homeland Security
Board of Advisors

Dr. Jay C. Davis
(Chairman - Board of Advisors)
National Security Fellow
Lawrence Livermore
[view biography]

Mr. Michael J. Bayer
U.S. Army Science Board
[view biography]

Dr. John Gannon
Vice Chairman
Intellibridge Corporation
[view biography]

Admiral Harold W. Gehman Jr.
United States Navy (Ret.)
[view biography]

Dr. John Hamre
President & CEO
Center for Strategic and
International Studies
[view biography]

Mr. Phil E. Lacombe
President, Information and Infrastructure Protection Sector
[view biography]

Dr. Joshua Lederberg
Rockefeller University
[view biography]

Ms. Judith Miller
Partner, Williams & Connolly LLP
[view biography]

Dr. Michael C. Moriarty
Vice President, Research
Auburn University
[view biography]

Dr. Tara O'Toole
Johns Hopkins Center
for Civilian Biodefense
[view biography]



FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of criminal justice, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.