

Publication 718-R

(5/21)

Local Sales and Use Tax Rates on Residential Energy

Effective June 1, 2021

The Tax Law provides that residential energy sources and services are exempt from the 4% New York State sales and use tax, and the 36% sales and use tax imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), if applicable. The term *residential energy sources and services* means the following tangible personal property and services used for residential purposes:

- · natural gas
- · propane sold in containers of 100 pounds or more
- electricity
- steam
- · gas, electric, and steam services
- fuel oil (except diesel motor fuel)
- coal
- wood (for heating purposes only)

Counties and cities that impose a local sales and use tax may choose to either tax or exempt the residential energy sources and services listed above. Also, certain school districts are authorized to impose a sales and use tax on natural gas, propane (in containers of 100 pounds or more), electricity, and steam, as well as on gas, electric, and steam services.

Part 1 lists the jurisdictions that impose a local tax on residential sales of gas, propane (in containers of 100 pounds or more), electricity, and steam, and the applicable tax rate.

Part 2 lists the jurisdictions that impose a local tax on residential sales of coal, fuel oil, and wood (for heating), and the applicable tax rate.

Localities or school districts not listed in this publication do not impose a local tax on residential energy sources and services.

Part 1 – Jurisdictions that tax residential gas, propane (100 pounds or more), electricity, and steam

Taxing jurisdiction (county names added for clarification)	Tax rate %
Albany School District (Albany County)	3
Cohoes School District (Albany County)	3
Watervliet School District (Albany County)	3
Allegany County	41/2
Cattaraugus County (outside the following)	3
Olean (city)	3
Salamanca (city)	3
Cayuga County (outside the following)	4
Auburn (city)	4
Chemung County	4
Norwich (city) (Chenango County)	3
Hudson School District (Columbia County)	3
Cortland County	4
Poughkeepsie School District (Dutchess County)	3
Erie County (outside the following)	43/4
Lackawanna School District	73/4
Franklin County	2
Gloversville School District (Fulton County)	3
Johnstown School District (in Fulton County)	3
Batavia School District (Genesee County)	3
Watertown School District (Jefferson County)	3
Oneida (city) (Madison County)	2
Johnstown School District (in Montgomery County)	3
Glen Cove School District (Nassau County)	3
Long Beach School District (Nassau County)	3
Niagara County (outside the following)	4
Lockport (city)	4
Niagara Falls School District	7
Utica School District (Oneida County)	3

Taxing jurisdiction (county names added for clarification)	Tax rate %
Middletown School District (Orange County)	3
Newburgh School District (outside city) (Orange County)	3
Newburgh School District (inside city) (Orange County)	6
Port Jervis (city) (Orange County)	3
Orleans County	4
Oswego (city) (Oswego County)	4
Rensselaer School District (Rensselaer County)	3
Troy School District (Rensselaer County)	3
Rockland County	4
Schenectady County (outside the following)	4
Schenectady School District	7
Hornell School District (Steuben County)	21/2
St. Lawrence County (outside the following)	4
Ogdensburg School District	7
Suffolk County	21/2
Sullivan County ¹	4
Tioga County	3
Tompkins County (outside the following)	4
Ithaca (city)	4
Westchester County (outside the following)	4
Mount Vernon School District (outside city)	7
Mount Vernon School District (inside city)	7
New Rochelle School District	6
Peekskill School District	7
Rye City School District	7
White Plains School District	6
Yonkers (city)	4½
New York City	41/2

Part 2 – Jurisdictions that tax residential coal, fuel oil, and wood (for heating)

Taxing jurisdiction (county names added for clarification)	Tax rate
Allegany County	41/2
Cattaraugus County (outside the following)	3
Olean (city)	3
Salamanca (city)	3
Cayuga County (outside the following)	4
Auburn (city)	4
Chemung County	4
Norwich (city) (Chenango County)	3
Cortland County	4
Erie County	43/4
Franklin County	2
Oneida (city) (Madison County)	2
Niagara County	4
Orleans County	4
Oswego (city) (Oswego County)	4
Rockland County	4
Schenectady County	4
St. Lawrence County	4
Suffolk County	21/2
Sullivan County ¹	4
Tioga County	3
Tompkins County (outside the following)	4
Ithaca (city)	4
Westchester County (outside the following)	4
Mount Vernon (city)	4
New Rochelle (city)	3
Yonkers (city)	41/2
New York City	4½

¹ Additional local rate of 4% will expire on February 28, 2023.

Need help?



Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov

- get information and manage your taxes online
- · check for new online services and features

Telephone assistance

Sales Tax Information Center: 518-485-2889

To order forms and publications: 518-457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD Dial 7-1-1 for the equipment users New York Relay Service